Reply
Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: Two Router setup. Using WRT54G as access point.

Oleg, what exactly does not work? Error messages?
Oleg M
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-27-2007

Re: Two Router setup. Using WRT54G as access point.

- From the PC connected to the access point (WRT54G):
  -- I can easily ping the IP that I assigned to the LAN port of the access
     point (192.168.1.2)
  -- I can not ping the IP that is used by the primary cable/router (192.168.1.1)
- From the PC connected to the primary cable/router
  -- I can ping the IP of the primary router (192.168.1.1)
  -- I can not ping the IP that I assigned to the LAN port of the access point (192.168.1.1)
Routers connected LAN port to LAN port using normal cable (not crossover).
DHCP in a second router (one that I wan to use as an access point) is turned off.
 
Whole picture:
                
--- [Router]-192.168.1.1-------------192.168.1.2---[Access Point]-----PC
 
Thanks
Oleg
Stucco
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-17-2007

Re: Two Router setup. Using WRT54G as access point.

[ Edited ]
The closest to what I wanted I ever got was...

Motorola Router: 192.168.0.1
Linksys Router: 192.168.0.2
Connected LAN port on Motorola to LAN port on Linksys

With a PC plugged into Linksys LAN port I COULD ping the Motorola, but could neither ping nor access the Linksys management interface. I talk to support and the gentleman was very unhelpful. He just pretty much confirmed you can't access the interface with it set up as an access point. Due to this I decided to just run two networks.

My Final Config:
Motorola: 192.168.0.1
Linksys: 192.168.1.1
Connected LAN port on Motorola to Uplink port on Linksys

I have enabled wireless access on both, but wires are only plugged into Linksys. For wireless I typically use the Linksys because it's faster, but if I need to I can access the interface of the Motorola by just getting on the wireless network with my laptop. It's not what I wanted but it will work for my house.

Message Edited by Stucco on 08-28-2007 07:40 AM
Oleg M
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-27-2007

Re: Two Router setup. Using WRT54G as access point.

I tried both ways:
1. Main router and second router - are in different networks.
    -- DHCP on a second router is enabled
    -- WAN port of second router is connected to LAN port to the main router
        with normal Ethernet cable.
    -- WAN port on a second router configured:
        a. with DHCP (when second router receives IP from the main router
             by DHCP)
             Second router can not get an IP from first router. If I connect my laptop
             to the sable used to connect second router - it gets IP just fine.
       ---[First Router]-192.168.1.1.-----------DHCP-[Second Router]---DHCP (192.168.2.*)
        b. with Static IP (I assigned IP to the WAN port of second router in the
            same network as first router.
2. Main router and second rouer in the same network
   (second router as access point)
Scenarios 1a and 1B - still do work.
Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: Two Router setup. Using WRT54G as access point.

When you connect two routers through the LAN ports there is no filtering or similar involved. You should always be able to send pings to any computer in the LAN.

Oleg, you wrote that you could not ping the other router in either direction. So far, it looks like the connection is not working. Are you sure the cable is O.K. and the ports are good? You can hook up computers through the same ports with the same cable?

Is one of the routers are older one which still has a uplink port or switch?

To repeat and verify:

The first router has LAN IP address 192.168.1.1. DHCP server enabled.

The second router has LAN IP address 192.168.1.2. DHCP server disabled. You connect a numbered LAN port of the second router to the first router. The internet port of the second router must not be used.

You should be able to ping 192.168.1.1 and 192.168.1.2 from any computer wired to either the first or second router.
Oleg M
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-27-2007

Re: Two Router setup. Using WRT54G as access point.

It appeared that the problem is in the Cat 5 cable in the wall.
When I connected primary router with the access point using long 30ft patch cable - everything works like charm..
 
Intersting thing is - the same cable in the wall was workin in a system with a cable modem from Comcast and LinkSys WRT54G.
But it does not work with Verizon (Actiontec) cable modem :smileysad:
jimblackjim
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-13-2007

Re: Two Router setup. Using WRT54G as access point.

I just got my WRT54G set up as an AP, connected to my BEFW11S4 with a LAN to LAN cable.
 
It works fine, but I have not been able to set any WEP security on the WRT54G.  I set it up in the menu, but it does not seem to take effect.
 
Any ideas?
 
Thanks,