Reply
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-04-2012

Updated firmware on my WRT310N...

Which I have never done since my dad bought it a few years ago. Now when I try re-installing the Linksys software it gets stuck when trying to identify the network from the cable modem through the router. I've tried every reset feature there is & nothing has worked! Smiley Sad I'm I going to need a new router?

Expert
Posts: 5,427
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: Updated firmware on my WRT310N...

You don't need any software to install the router.  After your firmware update you are to hard reset the router by holding the reset button in back for 30 seconds and release.  Wait 30 seconds and power cycle the router.  Now connect via wired computer to 192.168.1.1 username blank, password 'admin'.  Now input all your settings manually.

Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-04-2012

Re: Updated firmware on my WRT310N...

[ Edited ]

I've done that already & it didn't help! The page for 192.168.1.1 wouldn't even load. I've tried every solution I could find here ealier today. But I just found out it may be Bricked(?). So I'm going to try that solution to see if it helps.

Expert
Posts: 5,427
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: Updated firmware on my WRT310N...

Are the visual indications on the router correct?  Is the power light flashing?

Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-04-2012

Re: Updated firmware on my WRT310N...

Yes, the power light did flash.

Expert
Posts: 5,427
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: Updated firmware on my WRT310N...

No, is it flashing constantly?  Or is the router powering up normally?

Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-04-2012

Re: Updated firmware on my WRT310N...

[ Edited ]

After I did each 30 sec reset it flashed a couple of times & then stopped. From what I could find out from the many solutions that's supposed to just be the router booting up.

Expert
Posts: 5,427
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: Updated firmware on my WRT310N...

And you're using a wired computer and using Internet Explorer?

Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-04-2012

Re: Updated firmware on my WRT310N...

[ Edited ]

There's only one computer in the house & it's my HP Pavilion Notebook. After I updated the firmware for the router the first thing I did after resetting everything was hook up the modem straight to my PC and tried going to the 192.168.1.1 page in every browser I have. It didn't load in any of them.

Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-04-2012

Re: Updated firmware on my WRT310N...

OK, I just tried the last solution I could atually do myself & it did nothing. Guess I'm getting a new router.