Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Asraelite
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-08-2011
Accepted Solution

Using the E2000 as a wireless bridge

After getting informed that I cannot use the AP I bought yesterday as a bridge, I decided to get another linksys E2000, as the guy in the shop informed me that I can run it in bridge mode for sure.

Now, as I am doing this for the first time, and my english is not the best, I was not able to find some instructions, or even better a step-by-step manual that can assist me. I searched the forum, but I did not find anything about the E2000 in bridge mode. AS I said my english is not the best, so can anybody help me? If someone can find some step-by-step instructions that would be great. It is no problem if it is in english, if there are some pictures. I hope I can finally use the WLAN today...

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: Using the E2000 as a wireless bridge

No. You cannot use it as wireless bridge. The E2000 does not connect wirelessly to other wireless access points/routers. You must connect it with an ethernet cable to your existing network.
Asraelite
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-08-2011

Re: Using the E2000 as a wireless bridge

[ Edited ]

I am going to shoot s1 right now. I tell those guys exactly what I want, and they now suggested 2 times the wrong thing.

Can you tell me please what a good bridge is?

Is the WET610N good?

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: Using the E2000 as a wireless bridge

The WET610N is a wireless bridge. That should work. I don't have one thus I can't tell whether it's good or not.
Asraelite
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-08-2011

Re: Using the E2000 as a wireless bridge

Yep, I set it up, and it works fine as you can see :smileywink:

gustavogberger
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-25-2011

Re: Using the E2000 as a wireless bridge

Do you have the procedure that you did to setup your second router?

Asraelite
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-08-2011

Re: Using the E2000 as a wireless bridge

Didn't work with the E2000 but the WET610N worked.

it is easy to set up, there is a setup manual with it...

quadgnim
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-19-2012

Re: Using the E2000 as a wireless bridge

Ive not tried it yet myself but I'm told the open source dd-wrt firmware is cable of bridging and supports the e2000.   I might actually try it.