06-26-2012 02:44 PM
Can a WRT54G be setup not to completely reset it's settings to default when reset button pushed?
Here is my dilemma. I oversee the network at a medium sized business. We have one WRT54G wireless router. I really do not like having it on premises but it is hooked in front of my firewall. Primary use is for demos and auditors and such for access to the internet in front of our network.
Everytime I setup the encryption on the router to keep just certain people using it, someone hits the RESET button on the back and resets the router to default, which means NO Encryption.
Any ideas or suggestions? It has to be at the location it is in which is secured and I know who is resetting it but I would like to "set it and forget it."
Thanks for any thoughts or comments.
06-27-2012 01:30 AM
How did you reset the router. If you were able to properly reset the router you admin should be accepted as the password. You can also remove the browsing history of your browser or better yet use another browser.
06-27-2012 04:48 AM
Well,even if you will set the highest level of security in your router but someone will reset it, then it will still revert to it's default ssid w/ no security. Probably what you need to do is to put a note beside the router that reads "Do Not Reset."