Reply
Critically
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-13-2009

WRGT54G Router Set up

[ Edited ]

I just moved my computer to a different section in my house, and I got problems with plugging the Router in, the internet isn't working. However, I do know how to connect to the internet without doing anything to the router. Could anyone please provide me with instructions on how to do it? If so, I would highly appreciate that.

 

Thanks!

Message Edited by Critically on 05-13-2009 07:27 PM
eLLa21
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎04-28-2009

Re: WRGT54G Router Set up

Did you connect your modem to the internet port of the Linksys router? Who's your ISP by the way? Make sure the cables are properly plug in.
ShinzooYuuru
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎05-13-2009

Re: WRGT54G Router Set up

Hi there! It's just simple but just make sure the connections you've done are correct, try to follow this steps:

 

Checking your connections:

 

PC ==> port 1 of the router

Modem ==> internet port of the router

 

*check lights in the front panel of your router, make sure port 1 light, internet light, wlan light and power light are lit up. (Power light should be solid, that's ok if other lights will blink that means there's activity)

 

if your ISP is a cable connection, try this steps:

> open IE or Firefox

> clear out the address bar except for http://

> add this numbers: 192.168.1.1 (like this ==> http://192.168.1.1)

> hit enter and Username and Password should pop up

> type this for password ==> admin (in small letters) and just leave username blank

> bellow the Setup main tab look for a sub-tab that says MAC address clone and click it

> click enable and click Clone PC's MAC button and save settings

> check if online

*if not online, turn off router by unplugging the power cord at the back and do the same on the cable modem, make sure all lights are off. Wait for 20sec and turn on the cable modem first and wait for another 20sec before turning on the linksys router. Check if power light on linksys router is solid then check if online!

 

for DSL connection :

> open IE or Firefox

> clear out the address bar except for http://

> add this numbers: 192.168.1.1 (like this ==> http://192.168.1.1)

> hit enter and Username and Password should pop up

> type this for password ==> admin (in small letters) and just leave username blank

> on the Setup tab change router ip to 192.168.5.1 and save settings!

> power off router and wait for 20sec and turn it back on

> if power light on router is already solid, check if online

 

if you have a username and password for ISP try this steps:

> go to Network Connections

> look for a Broadband icon or DSL icon and right-click it

> choose Cancel as default connections

> open IE or Firefox

> clear out the address bar except for http://

> add this numbers: 192.168.1.1 (like this ==> http://192.168.1.1)

> hit enter and Username and Password should pop up

> type this for password ==> admin (in small letters) and just leave username blank

> on the Setup tab of the router, change the Internet Connection Type to PPPoE

> type Username and Password of your ISP here

> change router ip to 192.168.5.1 and save settings

> power off router and wait for 20sec and turn it back on

> if power light on router is already solid, check if online

 

Hope this helps..

 

 

------------------------------------------------------

"Nankurunaisa" "It will all work out just fine!"
Critically
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-13-2009

Re: WRGT54G Router Set up

Darn, I was hoping your trick would work. Unfortunately, I plugged P/C ===> 1 of the router, and Moden ===> Into the Internet of the Router. There was no internet, I also went to 192.168.1.1 right after I did the pluggings and it couldn't display the webpage, EG. "Internet Explorer, Could not view the Webpage" I just put my Modem ===> Into P/C so, that my internet work. My router is now off.  Thanks...

                                                                                                  
Carrot
Posts: 3,271
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: WRGT54G Router Set up

After connecting your modem==> router==> computer you should reset your Linksys router to factory settings and then re-configure it...

 

Press and hold the reset button for 30 seconds...Release the reset button...Unplug the power cable from your router, wait for 30 seconds and re-connect the power cable...Now re-configure your router...
Also make sure that your computer is set to obtain IP automatically, disable any firewalls, security softwares on the computer before trying to access the setup page...

 

To configure your Linksys router 

 

Follow this link if your Internet Service Providor is Cable
Follow this link if your Internet Service Providor is DSL

ShinzooYuuru
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎05-13-2009

Re: WRGT54G Router Set up

Hi there, did you check first if you can get online directly to the modem before you've done all that troubleshooting?..if you have a Cable Internet connection, you should be online when straight to the modem. If its a DSL Internet connection, check the DSL light or Internet light on your modem if there's a light on it. In that way you'll be able to know how to configure your router. DSL modem has different setup for your router. Try to follow this steps on how to make your router talk to your modem just make sure to do this steps first:

 

> PC ==> Modem  = online? not online?

 

if online? check ip

> go to Control Panel

> click Network Connections

> right-click LAN and go to Status

> go to Support tab

> check ip  = are you getting a private ip? or public ip? or invalid ip?

 

*private ip is like 192.168.X.XXX

*public ip is like 64.XXX.XXX.XXX (not necessarily starts at 64, if it doesn't start with 192.XXX.X.XXX then its a public ip)

*invalid ip is 169.XXX.X.XXX

 

*If getting a private ip or invalid ip then it could be a DSL connection. To make the router talk to your modem, you need to change the router's ip or you might need to input your username and password from your ISP, in the web ui of your router, if your modem's on bridge mode.

 

*If public then its Cable connection. To make it communicate to your modem, you need to clone the physical address of your pc to your router. (Check out the links bellow on how to?)

 

 

if not online?

> power off modem for 20sec and plug it back in after (make sure all lights will turn off when you turn off the modem, if power light is blinking then take out the backup battery)

> check if online? if online check what ip are you getting and start reconfiguring your router(Check out the links bellow on how to) if not then diagnose it more

 

*if you have a Cable modem and still not online after turning it off then contact your Internet Service Provider(ISP), tell them that it's connected straight to the modem but not online, they should help you get online before you can fix your router!

 

*if you have a DSL modem, it might be on DCHP or Bridge mode

 

Here are the links which will help make your router talk to your modem. Hope this will help you more.

 

for Cable Internet Service setup:

http://linksys.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/linksys.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=3686

 

for DSL Internet Service setup:
http://linksys.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/linksys.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=3687

 

 

 

------------------------------------------------------

"Nankurunaisa" "It will all work out just fine!"