Reply
CDMateo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-27-2008

WRT110 Firmware Upgrade

Hi. I have a WRT110 wireless router which disconnects suddenly and continuously. In addition, its performance is really poor. The current firmware installed is 1.0.03. I found a new firmware for this model (1.0.04.10) but when I try to install it, I choose the .bin file downloaded from Linksys TechSupp website, click on the "Start Upgrade" button, but I always get the following message "Please designate the path to the firmware". Any idea? Thanks.
drstout
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-27-2008

Re: WRT110 Firmware Upgrade

I had the same error message trying to upgrade the firmware on a new WRT110 router using Firefox 3.0.1. I switched over to Internet Explorer 7, and the upgrade processed successfully.
ridcully
Posts: 2,329
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: WRT110 Firmware Upgrade

Try redownloading the firmware of the router ....
After that renistall it & see if it works .....
compmuseme
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-16-2009

Re: WRT110 Firmware Upgrade

I had this problem in FireFox, but it went away when I tried in Internet Explorer.

 

ho0gd0y
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-23-2009

Re: WRT110 Firmware Upgrade

had the same problem on the same router. got the error message with both chrome and firefox. Also works fine with internet explorer for me.
solo11
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎01-08-2010

Re: WRT110 Firmware Upgrade

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You are probably here and read this

because your Linksys WRT110 router

frequently and constantly drops internet connection.

And you are pretty fed up with it, just like me was.

http://www.linksysbycisco.com/EU/en/products/WRT110



You are on the right place.

Here is the solution of the problem.

A step by step guide in case of WINDOWS operating system:



-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. Download and save WRT110 Firmware  Version 1.0.02 build 34  from one of my backup links:

http://hotfile.com/dl/52252400/105ec4a/WRT100_1.0.02.034_fw.bin.html
http://hotfile.com/dl/52252301/fd5c4fe/router__WRT100_1.0.02.034_fw.bin.html
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=RAHK1PSF
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=TT7XTIBB
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=TT7XTIBB



http://downloads.linksysbycisco.com/downloads/WRT110_WRT100_1.0.07_FwReleaseNotes,0.txt

other versions are useless (I have tested versions with the ends  .03, .04, .05, .07)
http://hotfile.com/dl/52252144/6a1b9b4/router_FW_WRT110_WRT100_1.0.05.003_EN_20080708.bin.html
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=W3VUMEAY
http://hotfile.com/dl/52252211/40af4e7/router_FW_WRT110_WRT100_1.0.07.002_EN_20091123.bin.html
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=992WB3UF  









-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


2. Rename the downloaded WRT100_1.0.02.034_fw.bin firmware to

code.bin

remember where you have saved it.



-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

3. Disconnect all network cables ( except power cable !! ) from your WRT110 router.


4. Press and hold down the RESET button of your WRT 110 router for 30 seconds.

Pic: http://www.abload.de/img/wrt110__reset_buttonx6dw.jpg

(If the LED of the power stops flashing, you can release the RESET button.)

MORE INFO: Resetting the Linksys Router to Factory Default
http://linksys.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/linksys.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=4008


5. Re-connect all network cables (except ADSL modem cable !! ) to your WRT110 router.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

6. In the Internet Explorer (important -> NOT IN OTHER BROWSER !!) open:

http://192.168.1.1/

username: DO NOT WRITE HERE ANYTHING

password: admin


7. Go to Administration -> Factory Defaults -> Restore Factory Defaults -> Yes/OK

Pic: http://www.abload.de/img/wrt110__rest_defnuo2.jpg

wait till it has been finished and the router re-starts, if it is asked again:

username: DO NOT WRITE HERE ANYTHING

password: admin


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

8. Go to Administration -> Firmware Upgrade -> at [Please select a file to upgrade:]

You have to select the file you downloaded and renamed to

code.bin

Press -> Start to Upgrade button

Pic: http://www.abload.de/img/wrt110__firmw_upgrkubh.jpg

wait till it has been finished succesfully

If you didn't get message: succesfully

repeat the steps (I had to do so)

that is:
(You may have to unplug from power and plug in again the router.)
In the Internet Explorer (important - NOT IN OTHER BROWSER !!) open:
http://192.168.1.1/
username: DO NOT WRITE HERE ANYTHING
password: admin
Go to Administration -> Firmware Upgrade -> at [Please select a file to upgrade:]
You have to select the file you downloaded and renamed to
code.bin
Press -> Start to Upgrade button
wait till it has been finished succesfully



9. Now, you have managed to upgrade your WRT110 router (or rather call it a downgrade)

On site http://192.168.1.1/

choose Status tab -> Router

Your Firmware Version has to be 1.0.02 build 34

Pic: http://www.abload.de/img/wrt110__firmw_statusq5zr.jpg

MORE INFO: Upgrading Router's Firmware
http://linksys.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/linksys.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=4030&p_created=11601...


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

10. Again: Disconnect all network cables ( except power cable !! ) from your WRT110 router.


11. Press and hold down the RESET button of your WRT 110 router for 30 seconds.

Pic: http://www.abload.de/img/wrt110__reset_buttonx6dw.jpg

(If the LED of the power stops flashing, you can release the RESET button.)

MORE INFO: Resetting the Linksys Router to Factory Default
http://linksys.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/linksys.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=4008


12. Re-connect all network cables (except ADSL modem cable !! ) to your WRT110 router.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

13. In the Internet Explorer (important -> NOT IN OTHER BROWSER !!) open:

http://192.168.1.1/

username: DO NOT WRITE HERE ANYTHING

password: admin


14. Go to Administration -> Factory Defaults -> Restore Factory Defaults -> Yes/OK

Pic: http://www.abload.de/img/wrt110__rest_defnuo2.jpg

wait till it has been finished and the router re-starts, if it is asked again:

username: DO NOT WRITE HERE ANYTHING

password: admin



-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

15. Now you have to set up your internet connection:

Open in your browser http://192.168.1.1/

username: DO NOT WRITE HERE ANYTHING

password: admin


16. Setup -> Basic Setup

Pic: http://www.abload.de/img/wrt110__net_set8aetjwxj.jpg

Internet Connection Type: PPPoE <- select

Username: TYPE IN WHAT YOUR INTERNET PROVIDER HAS GIVEN TO YOU (IN YOUR CONTRACT)

Password: TYPE IN WHAT YOUR INTERNET PROVIDER HAS GIVEN TO YOU (IN YOUR CONTRACT)

Select => Keep Alive: Redial Period: 30 Seconds.



At DHCP Server Setting:

Start IP Address:         192  .  168  .  1  .  100

Maximum Number of Users: HOW MANY COMPUTER WILL CONNECT TO THE WRT110 ROUTER (+2 just for sure)

Press [Save Settings] button below.



-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

17. Wireless -> Basic Wireless Settings

Pic: http://www.abload.de/img/wrt110__ssidemyc.jpg

Network Mode: Mixed <- Select

Network Name (SSID): TYPE something IN AND WRITE IT DOWN ON A PAPER, THAT WILL BE THE NAME OF YOUR NETWORK

(Your computers will ask it firstly when they want to connect to WRT110 router wirelessly.)



SSID Broadcast: Disabled

(= THE NAME OF YOUR (wireless) NETWORK WON'T BE DISPLAYED,
instead of this the name OTHER NETWORK will be displayed e.g. on Windows 7.)

Pic: http://www.abload.de/img/win7_wireless1ba9.jpg


Press [Save Settings] button below.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

18. Wireless -> Wireless Security

Pic: http://www.abload.de/img/wrt110__passw2xic.jpg

Security Mode: WPA2 Personal <- Select

Encryption: TKIP or AES

Passphrase: TYPE something IN AND WRITE IT DOWN ON A PAPER, THAT WILL BE YOUR NETWORK "PASSWORD"

(Your computers will ask it secondly when they want to connect to WRT110 router wirelessly.)


Press [Save Settings] button below.



-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

19. Administration -> Management

Pic: http://www.abload.de/img/wrt110__routerpasswoxyy.jpg

Router Password: TYPE something IN AND WRITE IT DOWN ON A PAPER

Re-enter to confirm: TYPE IT AGAIN

Press [Save Settings] button below.

This is your new password when you want to login to

http://192.168.1.1/


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

20. You are ready to use your internet connection.

Connect your WRT110 router to your ADSL modem and go to surf the Net.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


I hope this guide will solve your constant connection dropping problem.



-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

longnguyen1987
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-10-2010

Re: WRT110 Firmware Upgrade

OMG! thank you so much it worked perfectly

dudztgp
Posts: 1,496
Registered: ‎06-27-2010

Re: WRT110 Firmware Upgrade

That sounds great!

 

Please click on "Accept as Solution" on the post that resolved the issue. This will further help our community whenever someone having similar issue with the router. Thank you!

NeCrOpHoBiC
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-12-2011

Re: WRT110 Firmware Upgrade

[ Edited ]

I couldn't find "Accept as Solution", hence decided to leave a message for the rest of the people who would stop by for a solution to this problem.

                    This is by far the best way to get your WRT110 working if it stops working.  Awesome guide from solo11. Just downgrade your firmware to the one which is specified and you are all set.  Your internet works just fine. There is a slight change in one of the steps that might be applicable to someone like me. Below in red are the changes that i made to make it work for me.

 

          In Step 16 of Basic Setup

 

Pic: http://www.abload.de/img/wrt110__net_set8aetjwxj.j​pg

Internet Connection Type:  Leave it as /or select  Automatic Configuraton - DHCP instead of PPPoE

(In My case i left it as "Automatic Configuraton - DHCP")

Username:  Leave Blank

Password: Leave Blank

 

I've internet throught Comcast and they don't have a username and password for high speed internet and if you select PPPoE and leave the username and password blank you won't be able to save the settings. Hence i just left the internet connection type to automatic configuration - DHCP and the username and password blank and then it will let you save the changes and then move on to next steps.

 

                   After finishing all of the steps i had to restart  all the 3 i.e, my modem, router and my computer for the internet to work fine. Hope this one step helps someone as it wasn't mentioned in the guide and so i added it here.

All the best to people who are trying to get their WRT110 to work.  Hope linksys does something 'bout this in their next firmware update.

 



saint79
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-17-2011

Re: WRT110 Firmware Upgrade

I've tried to upgrade (downgrade) as suggested but I get the designate path error.  I can't connect to the router thru Internet Explorer as suggested.  I can only get to the router thru Mozilla.  Any suggestions why Internet Explorer will not let me hit the router homepage?  This is really ticking me off spending the money and not being able to access with more than one computer at a time.  Linksys will not be seeing any money from me for a while.