chuck1221
Accepted Solution

WRT54G Issues...

Hi, I have been using my WRT54G wireless router on 2 computers for about 7 months with no problems. One computer running XP is wired and my computer running Vista is wireless. The last 2 weeks I have been having many issues connecting to the router to get the internet. I have excellent signal strength but yet it still has problems connecting, and when it does connect my internet via the wireless connection is horribly slow, 56k speed... The internet on the wired computer is always fast so it is only slow on the wireless connection. I have cable internet service through comcast. I have read all over the linksys website and forum and have tryed everything I have found to correct this problem and have yet to be succesful. As I said before I have been using this connection for almost 7 months with no issues, all of a sudden my wireless connection is slow and has problems connecting. I did not change any setting for the network in this time.

Can someone please help me?

Thanks,

Chuck

toomanydonuts

Re: WRT54G Issues...

There are many causes for poor wireless connections, and many solutions:

First of all, give your network a unique SSID. Do not use "linksys". If you are using "linksys" you may be trying to connect to your neighbor's router. Also set "SSID Broadcast" to "enabled". This will help your computer find and lock on to your router's signal.

Poor wireless connections are often caused by radio interference from other 2.4 GHz devices. This includes wireless phones, wireless baby monitors, microwave ovens, wireless mice and keyboards, wireless speakers, and your neighbor's wireless network. In rare cases, Bluetooth devices can interfere. Even some 5+ GHz phones also use the 2.4 Ghz band. Unplug these devices, and see if that corrects your problem.