wrxnofx

WRT54G and WET610N Connection Issues

Hey all, newbie here to the forum.  I just bought a WET610N wireless bridge so that I could connect my Samsung Blu-Ray player up to it.

I'm not able to get it to connect to my WRT54G router and I can't figure out why.

I haven't changed much in the router settings from default other than SSID, enabled WPA TKIP encryption, using channel 4, and limited the number of DHCP connections to 15 (192.168.1.100 - 192.168.1.114).  I haven't added any access restrictions, DMZ, QoS, etc.  I don't have MAC address filtering enabled, either.

On the wireless bridge, I have configured the SSID to that of the router, set up security to WPA Personal (there are no additional settings to specify TKIP or AES for some reason) to that of the router (copying the key from the router GUI to the bridge GUI so I know it's right), but it still won't connect.  If I look in the router clients table, it doesn't serve out any IP to the bridge.

I started the bridge out with DHCP, and since it didn't work I thought I'd try to give it a static IP.  So I set the IP to a value within the range allowed by the router (192.168.1.114), having made sure in the router clients table that the IP wasn't already assigned.  I set the subnet mask to that of the router (255.255.255.0) and the Gateway to that of the router (192.168.1.1).  When I save the changes in the bridge, I can no longer even access the bridge's GUI, either from the default IP of 169.254.1.250 or from the newly assigned IP of 192.169.1.114.  Again, the server client table never shows an IP being assigned.

What am I doing wrong here?  Is there a setting I have to change in my WRT54G to allow a bridge to be on the system?  Like, do I have to change it's operating mode from Gateway to Router?  Any ideas?  Any help is appreciated.

helm

Re: WRT54G and WET610N Connection Issues