Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Jocke
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-29-2006

WRT54GS Wireless security two routers (WDS)

2 WRT54GS
Wireless connection between routers.
No1 SSID test (connected to ADSL modem) disabled security
No2 SSID test1 disabled security
 
After some hard work I was able to make a wireless connection (50m/150ft) between two WRT54GS routers. But when I enabled security (WPA-TKIP) on the router (test1) that is't connected to the ADSL modem, it could't connect to intenet anymore, only to the secured router (test1).
 
I would be very happy for some tips how to enable wireless security on both routers.
 
Regards Jocke
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎06-28-2006

Re: WRT54GS Wireless security two routers (WDS)

[ Edited ]
The official firmware for those routers don't have such a function (WDS / Repeater). 
Which firmware are you using?  OpenWRT? 
 
(mods, i apologize if I may have violated some rules regarding this post, but the question had to be asked)

Message Edited by Frank on 06-29-2006 12:44 AM

________________
Frank
"I will graduate on time, no matter how long it takes"
sisko
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-28-2006

Re: WRT54GS Wireless security two routers (WDS)

Frank is right. I never heard this model support such feature. But if you are using third party firware it may work but this void the warranty of this router.
"It is common sense to take a method and try it. If it fails, admit it frankly and try another.
But above all, try something."
Jocke
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-29-2006

Re: WRT54GS Wireless security two routers (WDS)

[ Edited ]
As far as I know the routers using the official firmware for both routers.
I took over a project that was started a while ago and the fore some reason it was't finished. The only thing thats left is to secure both routers.
 
Wireless Distribution System (WDS) compatible? Yes
 
Under the tab WDS I just added the wireless mac from the other router.
test added test1's wireless mac address as LAN
test1 added test's wireless mac address as LAN

Message Edited by Jocke on 06-29-2006 05:28 AM

Administrator
Vince_02
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎06-28-2006

Re: WRT54GS Wireless security two routers (WDS)

 


Frank wrote:
The official firmware for those routers don't have such a function (WDS / Repeater). 
Which firmware are you using?  OpenWRT? 
 
(mods, i apologize if I may have violated some rules regarding this post, but the question had to be asked)

Message Edited by Frank on 06-29-2006 12:44 AM


It's okay Frank and thank you for replying to Jocke's post. I also believe that such question is necessary to be asked and I agree that this router doesn't have such feature.


 

UnknownHero
Posts: 295
Registered: ‎06-29-2006

Re: WRT54GS Wireless security two routers (WDS)



Jocke wrote:
As far as I know the routers using the official firmware for both routers.
I took over a project that was started a while ago and the fore some reason it was't finished. The only thing thats left is to secure both routers.
 
Wireless Distribution System (WDS) compatible? Yes
 
Under the tab WDS I just added the wireless mac from the other router.
test added test1's wireless mac address as LAN
test1 added test's wireless mac address as LAN

Message Edited by Jocke on 06-29-2006 05:28 AM


My friend has the same router and we haven't noticed a WDS tab in the setup page of this router. Can you mention the exact firmware version installed on your router?
Katsuki23
Posts: 211
Registered: ‎06-29-2006

Re: WRT54GS Wireless security two routers (WDS)

Check the firmware version under the status tab of the router. But I agree with everyone, official firmware of this router does not have a WDS tab.

"When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth."