Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Bobo34
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2006

Wirelss Router - Cannot acquire network address - Can anyone help please???

Hi,
 
I cannot connect to my wireless router (WRT54G) when using the encrypted option.
 
My laptop hangs on the message 'acquiring network address' but it never does acquire the address.
 
It works fine when the connection is unsecure (ie. not encrypted)
 
This use to work fine but it mysteriously stopped working.
 
Any suggestion on how to fix this would be much appreciated.
 
Thanks
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-12-2006

Re: Wirelss Router - Cannot acquire network address - Can anyone help please???

What encryption are you using?
 
You may try to switching the channel on your router....:smileywink:
amore05
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-12-2006

Re: Wirelss Router - Cannot acquire network address - Can anyone help please???

how long had you had this router?...try to check the firmware...
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-12-2006

Re: Wirelss Router - Cannot acquire network address - Can anyone help please???

you could actually try uprading the firmware of your router and driver of your adapter...
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-12-2006

Re: Wirelss Router - Cannot acquire network address - Can anyone help please???

You might have accidentally input the wrong encryption. Most common mistake would be placing the passphrase instead of the actual key specially if the computer is using WZC.... :smileyvery-happy:
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎10-12-2006

Re: Wirelss Router - Cannot acquire network address - Can anyone help please???

interferrences might be one of the reason why your wireless pc is not connecting.
~ lyf_R_foeittee ;o) ~~
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-12-2006

Re: Wirelss Router - Cannot acquire network address - Can anyone help please???

hello Bobo,
 
 
make sure that you're network key is correct and under "preferred network" you have to edit your profile and restart your computer now if it wont work try to check for the "advance wireless settings" of the router and change the ff:
 
Beacon Interval = 50
RTS Threshold = 2304
Fragmentation Threshold = 2304
 
Now if this wont work i believe you have to upgrade the fw of the router..
 
just to isolate the problem try to use other computer and see if the others can connect
Bobo34
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-12-2006

Re: Wirelss Router - Cannot acquire network address - Can anyone help please???

Hi,
 
I tried your suggestions but no luck, it still hangs on 'acquiring network address'
When i run ipconfig on my laptop, it hasn't picked up anything ie. everything says 0.0.0.0
 
I've got 2 laptops and the problem occurs with both of them.
 
And the wireless connnectino works fine when its set to be unencrypted.
 
Any other ideas,
 
Bobo
 
 
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎10-13-2006

Re: Wirelss Router - Cannot acquire network address - Can anyone help please???

limited or no connectivity...
 
well, this is a association and authentication problem...
 
when you say, authentication, this refers to the process where the router recognizes the computer connecting to the AP.
 
association, is the process where the connecting client gets aa valid ip address from the Access point and is able to pass data through the net.
 
now, limited or no connectivity is simply, authenticated but not associated...
 
meaning, the access point has recognized the pc's attempt but is not provided a valid IP to pass data through the net....
 
 
cause:
-wrong network key is used to connect
-using 2 utilities to connect, the WinXP's Wireless Zero Configuration and a Wireless Lan Monitor that comes with the adapter
 
if you are using WEP, make sure that if you use transmit key 1, use the KEY1..transmit key 2, use KEY2.. and so on...
 
 
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-12-2006

Re: Wirelss Router - Cannot acquire network address - Can anyone help please???

hello,
 
mmmm so if you done the advance wireless settings and you upgraded the firmware of the router and its still hangs on "acquiring network" try this one more thing on the "wireless zero configuration" screen click on "change the order of the preferred network" then under preferred network delete/remove everything that you can read... then try to connect again..
 
thanks,