Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
minimeme
Accepted Solution

hard reset e2000

ok, i'm studying up on how to install dd-wrt on this router for the simple reason of being able to monitor network usage due to caps being enforced by my isp.

i won't have access to the router for a couple days, so i have time to study the install, but how the heck do you do a hard reset with only 2 hands?!!

i mean, usually to reset anything, you have to stick a toothpick or straightened paper clip into a recessed hole and hold it. if i'm doing that, obviously both my hands are already occupied, so how do i then unplug unit AND pull the power plug?

thank you

Expert
sabretooth

Re: hard reset e2000

[ Edited ]

Who says you unplug it at the same time?  Press and hold the reset button for 30 seconds.  Release and wait 10 seconds.  Now power cycle the router.

minimeme

[ Edited ]

every link i've read says that!!

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Hard_reset_or_30/30/30

Hard Reset (aka 30/30/30 reset):

The following procedure will clear out the NVRAM and set dd-wrt back to default values:

• With the unit powered on, press and hold the reset button on back of unit for 30 seconds
  • Without releasing the reset button, unplug the unit and hold reset for another 30 seconds
  • Plug the unit back in STILL holding the reset button a final 30 seconds (please note that this step can put Asus devices into recovery mode...see note below!)

now, i realize that i don't have dd-wrt already installed, but this seems like an impossibility with only 2 hands!

Expert
sabretooth

Well then I guess you can't do it.

minimeme

no,

i can't by myself, i'm not quite that talented, but does this really have to be done like this?

you said just hold reset button for 30 seconds. sure would make it a lot easier!!

no c'mon. i'm being serious here.  :smileyhappy:

minimeme