Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
william822
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-25-2008

hard reset for WRT100

Hi, I've tried everything I read about reseting the WRT100 to its factory default and nothing worked. Does anybody know how to HARD RESET (is there such a thing?) the WRT100?
toomanydonuts
Posts: 6,365
Registered: ‎09-16-2006

Re: hard reset for WRT100

You need to try again to reset the router to factory defaults.

To reset your router to factory defaults, use the following procedure:

1) Power down all computers, the router, and the modem, and unplug them from the wall.
2) Disconnect all wires from the router.
3) Power up the router and allow it to fully boot (1-2 minutes).
4) Press and hold the reset button for 30 seconds, then release it, then let the router reset and reboot (2-3 minutes).
5) Power down the router.
6) Connect one computer by wire to port 1 on the router (NOT to the internet port).
7) Power up the router and allow it to fully boot (1-2 minutes).
8) Power up the computer (if the computer has a wireless card, make sure it is off).
9) Try to ping the router. To do this, click the "Start" button > All Programs > Accessories > Command Prompt. A black DOS box will appear. Enter the following: "ping 192.168.1.1" (no quotes), and hit the Enter key. You will see 3 or 4 lines that start either with "Reply from ... " or "Request timed out." If you see "Reply from ...", your computer has found your router.
10) Open your browser and point it to 192.168.1.1. This will take you to your router's login page. Leave the user name blank, and in the password field, enter "admin" (with no quotes). This will take you to your router setup page. Note the version number of your firmware (usually listed near upper right corner of screen). Exit your browser.

If you get this far without problems, try the setup disk (or setup the router manually, if you prefer), and see if you can get your router setup and working.

If you cannot get "Reply from ..." in step 9 above, your router is dead.

If you get a reply in step 9, but cannot complete step 10, then either your router is dead or the firmware is corrupt. In this case, use the Linksys tftp.exe program to try to reload your router with the latest firmware. After reloading the firmware, repeat the above procedure starting with step 1.

If you need additional help, please state your ISP, the make and model of your modem, your router's firmware version, and the results of steps 9 and 10. Also, if you get any error messages, copy them exactly and report back.

Please let me know how things turn out for you.
william822
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-25-2008

Re: hard reset for WRT100

this is the same procedure that was given to me to follow. unfortunately it didn't work. I had a technician to do this for me, but still no luck. I'm hoping that there's some kind of switch inside the router to force it to reset.
forsaken
Posts: 2,800
Registered: ‎09-07-2006

Re: hard reset for WRT100

1. Press and hold the reset button for 30 seconds.
2. Then, unplug the power keep holding down the reset button for
another 30 Seconds.
3. Plug back the power back in, and keep holding down the reset button
for 30 Seconds.
4. Release the reset button.
william822
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-25-2008

Re: hard reset for WRT100

thanks. But it didn't work.
toomanydonuts
Posts: 6,365
Registered: ‎09-16-2006

Re: hard reset for WRT100

Well, what did you get when you did steps 9 and 10 ?
william822
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-25-2008

Re: hard reset for WRT100

In Step 9, it gave "Request time out". One thing I notice is the router can not issue an IP. When I connect it to the computer, the network connection says "Acquiring IP address.." then after a few seconds the icon says "Network cable unplugged" then it says "Acquiring IP address.." again. Though it sending signal, the computer can not connect to it, because of the messages I mentioned above. I bought this router when I was in LA, then I got back here in the Philippines and set it up, the router only work fine for about less than hour. thanks.
toomanydonuts
Posts: 6,365
Registered: ‎09-16-2006

Re: hard reset for WRT100

Since you cannot get a reply to your ping, your router is most likely dead.
 
If you want, you can try a couple more things:
 
1)  In the computer, temporarily turn off your software firewall, including Windows Firewall, and then try the ping again and see if it works.
 
2)  If you are technically savvy, you can also try setting your computer to a fixed LAN IP address, such as 192.168.1.10 , with subnet mask 255.255.255.0 , default gateway of 192.168.1.1 , and DNS server of 192.168.1.1 .  Then connect the computer to a LAN port on the router, then power up and try the ping again.
 
If you still cannot get a reply to your ping, then your router is dead.  If you cannot ping your router, then the tftp.exe program will not work to re-load firmware.
william822
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-25-2008

Re: hard reset for WRT100

hi, I've tried what you have suggested and somehow I'm getting a little bit of hope. thanks you. I've turned off the firewall and virus scanner and assigned the IP, and this is what I get when I ping the router. C:\Users\user>ping 192.168.1.1 Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data: Reply from 192.168.1.10: Destination host unreachable. Reply from 192.168.1.10: Destination host unreachable. Reply from 192.168.1.10: Destination host unreachable. Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2055ms TTL=64 Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1: Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss), Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds: Minimum = 2055ms, Maximum = 2055ms, Average = 2055ms C:\Users\user>ping 192.168.1.1 Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data: Reply from 192.168.1.10: Destination host unreachable. Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2057ms TTL=64 Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time1ms TTL=64 Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time1ms TTL=64 Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1: Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss), Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds: Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 2057ms, Average = 685ms When I tried to update the firmware using tftp.exe, it has failed to do so. Probably because the connection timed out so quickly. So, what do you think shall I do next? regard.
william822
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-25-2008

Re: hard reset for WRT100

hi,
I've tried what you have suggested and somehow I'm getting a little bit of hope. thanks you.

I've turned off the firewall and virus scanner and assigned the IP,
and this is what I get when I ping the router.

C:\Users\user>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.10: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.10: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.10: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2055ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1: Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4,
Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds: Minimum = 2055ms, Maximum = 2055ms, Average = 2055ms

C:\Users\user>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.1.10: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=2057ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1: Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4,
Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 2057ms, Average = 685ms

When I tried to update the firmware using tftp.exe,
it has failed to do so. Probably because the connection timed out so quickly.

So, what do you think shall I do next?

regards.