Reply
rebe
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-17-2006

my WRT54G is also not working with comcast

I am trying to connect a wrt54g to a comcast cable modem. I hook them up, look for my router, and connect. I successfully log in to the router but it never displays anything from the internet.

I tried recycling the cable modem and wireless router as well as the pc. Nothing seems to work.

Any thoughts from the experts out there to a newbie?
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎08-19-2006

Re: my WRT54G is also not working with comcast

Access the setup page of the router, go to the "MAC address clone". Enable the MAC Clone and click on Clone Your PC's MAC, then save the settings. Do power cycle on the router and the modem. Then check if you can access the internet.
dkb218
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-18-2006

Re: my WRT54G is also not working with comcast

I'm having the same problem but with a IO {Time Warner} Cable modem...
I see that this answer has been given a number of times concerning cable modems.  I'm gonna try it tonight. 
 
To the original poster:  Did this work for you? Let us know!
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-05-2006

Re: my WRT54G is also not working with comcast

hi!!
 
Ok, try the following:
 
-Modem should be plugged into the Router's internet port.
 
-Plug the PC to 1 of the Ethernet port on the router(ports 1 - 4).
 
- Push and hold down the reset button of the router for 20 seconds.
 
- Powercycle the modem, router and the computer
 
- Access the router's set-up page go to MAC ADDRESS CLONE and enable it, save the settings,
 
- Go to Security Tab and disable the Block Anonymous Internet Request, save settings and POWERCYCLE EVERYTHING.
 
 
Goodluck!!!!
 
:smileywink:
 
 
 
 
 
 
Patience is a virtue
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-02-2006

Re: my WRT54G is also not working with comcast

I have this same problem and I have done all of the above several times, are there any other options.
marla
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-03-2006

Re: my WRT54G is also not working with comcast

Go to www. linksys.com/connect and follow instructions. It worked for me.
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎08-19-2006

Re: my WRT54G is also not working with comcast

Upgrade/reflash the firmware of the router
douglas_goodall
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-22-2006

Re: my WRT54G is also not working with comcast

My wrt300n is working ok with comcast. I think the most obvious thing is that your linksys should be configured to use dhcp for the wan. Otherwise, when  your comcast dynamic IP changes, things won't work anymore.
 
Try admin/diagnostics and ping www.novell.com
If that works, things should be ok.
 
Good luck.
---
Douglas W. Goodall, Software Engineer
425 San Juanico
Santa Maria, CA 93455
(805) 928-2445
douglas_goodall
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎09-22-2006

Re: my WRT54G is also not working with comcast

Are you using the right cable?
 
Cable modems often come with two ethernet cables. One straight through
and one crossed (usually yellow). Make sure you have a link light on the cable modem for the "pc"(you wrt). If not, you may be using the wrong cable.
---
Douglas W. Goodall, Software Engineer
425 San Juanico
Santa Maria, CA 93455
(805) 928-2445