Reply
wanderers
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎05-28-2012

myrouter.local not working (EA 4500)

I thought that you're supposed to be able to type myrouter.local in order to get to the router BIOS.  It does not work for me; instead it generates a Google search.  Is there a way to get that to work? 

jsrobison
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎05-06-2010

Re: myrouter.local not working (EA 4500)


wanderers wrote:

I thought that you're supposed to be able to type myrouter.local in order to get to the router BIOS.  It does not work for me; instead it generates a Google search.  Is there a way to get that to work? 


Stop using OpenDNS or a similar DNS server.  The reason it works is because the router intercepts the DNS error.

With OpenDNS or the like there will always be a valid reply.

 

wanderers
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎05-28-2012

Re: myrouter.local not working (EA 4500)

Ok I will try that.  The only reason I care is that the security certificate inside the router seems to be registered to myrouter.local so I get an error message when I navigate to the router using its IP address.  I wanted to see whether the error goes away if get there by typing myrouter.local.

Expert
zee29
Posts: 1,329
Registered: ‎04-22-2012

Re: myrouter.local not working (EA 4500)

So what type of error message are you getting when you use the router ip?

Expert
Expert
Posts: 12,649
Registered: ‎07-16-2006

Re: myrouter.local not working (EA 4500)


wanderers wrote:

Ok I will try that.  The only reason I care is that the security certificate inside the router seems to be registered to myrouter.local so I get an error message when I navigate to the router using its IP address.  I wanted to see whether the error goes away if get there by typing myrouter.local.


It's basically a dummy certificate. http://myrouter.local will never work.

JohnLyn814
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-28-2012

Re: myrouter.local not working (EA 4500)

 
gregoryspencer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: myrouter.local not working (EA 4500)

i get opps my router can not be found

Nate2
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎03-02-2010

Re: myrouter.local not working (EA 4500)


jsrobison wrote:

wanderers wrote:

I thought that you're supposed to be able to type myrouter.local in order to get to the router BIOS.  It does not work for me; instead it generates a Google search.  Is there a way to get that to work? 


Stop using OpenDNS or a similar DNS server.  The reason it works is because the router intercepts the DNS error.

With OpenDNS or the like there will always be a valid reply.

 


They could have just added myrouter.local to the hosts file with 192.168.1.1 as it's IP address instead of intercepting DNS errors.

I use OpenDNS too but I alway use 192.168.1.1 (I remember some numbers better than names. Lol! ) to get to my router.

 

Nate2
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎03-02-2010

Re: myrouter.local not working (EA 4500)

I use 192.168.1.1 and I don't get any kind of error message.


wanderers wrote:

Ok I will try that.  The only reason I care is that the security certificate inside the router seems to be registered to myrouter.local so I get an error message when I navigate to the router using its IP address.  I wanted to see whether the error goes away if get there by typing myrouter.local.


 

noscivic
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-02-2014

Re: myrouter.local not working (EA 4500)

did you guyss ever get this ssue resolvoled, because i'm going through the same exact things?

 

thanks