Reply
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-29-2016

Re: WAP300N becomes unresponsive after switch to 5GHz

 

Has been running fine with 2.4GHz WiFi.

Have reset it to factory default (reset button 5 seconds).

Linked up via network cable on Web 10.100.1.1, and modified WiFi to 5GHz, after reboot then the following happens:

- When turned on.

- Short flash in Ethernet.

- Flashing Power by 20 seconds.

- Steady light in WiFi, it showing SSID shortly, but there can not be connected to it.

 

No light in Power.

No light in Ethernet (with or without network cable)

No light in WiFi Protect button.

 

Nothing happens by doing a reset in 5 seconds.

 

Nothing happens by keeping reset inside, wait 30 seconds, turn it off for 30 seconds and turn it on and wait for 30 seconds, then release reset.

 

Same problem/error/issue like all the others in this thread.

Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-24-2016

Re: WAP300N becomes unresponsive after switch to 5GHz

[ Edited ]

Hi, you may see my postings.  “Been there done that”, my WAP300N bricked.  Eventually I got a call from a very knowledgeable and kind Linksys customer rep.  We did the troubleshootings and she even connected to my network to better assess the situation.  The problem was the firmware update with switch to 5 GHz, but the Linksys rep was in denial and never really spoke that up, probably because she couldn’t expose a liability to her company.  Well, how about taking the responsibility and keeping customers satisfied and loyal to the brand?  Again, my WAP300N was bricked, useless, not working, non-responsive.  No solution!  She finally asked me “What do you want me to do now?”, then I answered “I want my WAP300N to be repaired or exchanged with another one that works.”  Her answer: “No, we cannot do that...”  That was it, almost laughable!  It is a waste of time.  Whoever runs the after-sales in Linksys should go back to school to learn what customer service and customer experience really mean, and also that they have competitors out there wanting their customers.  Regards,

Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-07-2017

Re: WAP300N becomes unresponsive after switch to 5GHz

I have the same problem. But as I see, there is no solution. It seems my next device will be any brand but linksys.

Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-15-2017

Re: WAP300N becomes unresponsive after switch to 5GHz

I have the same issue Smiley Mad

Spoiler
Spoiler
 

 

After i hade configured the 5Ghz SSID the AP restarts and a physical link to the Ethernet interfcae wasn't possible aber the AP ends with the boot procedur. During the boot procedur -with an ethernetlink in up state- Wireshark captured 2 v6 packet with a router solicitation and a multicast listener message from the source MAC of the AP.

 

Any known factory default procedure are without an effect.

Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-21-2018

Re: WAP300N becomes unresponsive after switch to 5GHz

[ Edited ]

you already answered your own question buddy.

"same ssid for both connections"

this is wrong, you should never let your device mesh the 2 weith the same name, you get massive packet loss and conflicts much like the one you are experiencing now

ALWAYS use a seperate SSID for 2.4 and 5ghz


my suggestion, whatever the connection is on the other ap you are connecting to keep the same name and add a _2.4 (or 5ghz) denomination to the end on the main ap. and then on the wap300 use the same ssid but _ext at the end and it should solve the issue

Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-16-2015

Re: WAP300N becomes unresponsive after switch to 5GHz

[ Edited ]

@MrUniversewrote:

you already answered your own question buddy.

"same ssid for both connections"

this is wrong, you should never let your device mesh the 2 weith the same name, you get massive packet loss and conflicts much like the one you are experiencing now

ALWAYS use a seperate SSID for 2.4 and 5ghz


my suggestion, whatever the connection is on the other ap you are connecting to keep the same name and add a _2.4 (or 5ghz) denomination to the end on the main ap. and then on the wap300 use the same ssid but _ext at the end and it should solve the issue


The devices are bricked, so there's no option to change SSIDs after enabling 5GHz. There's no reason to get packet loss and conflicts with the same SSID on 5GHz and 2.4 GHz. Overlapping frequencies within the 2.4 GHz and 5GHz ranges will reduce performance, but so does more than one device being connected.

 

(edit: unless you're talking about unecessary roaming between bands? It is of course desirable to separate the SSIDs by frequency range but the behaviour described in this thread should in no way be the consequence of not doing so)

Posts: 14
Registered: ‎05-30-2015

Re: WAP300N becomes unresponsive after switch to 5GHz

yes, you understood what I'm experiencing. of cos we know we're not suppose to put the same SSID. the practise is to separate the identifier with the 2.4G or 5G behind the SSID.

 

unfortunately, the device is already bricked and before any 'changing' of any settings is not even possible after updating that firmware. anyway, the story is long gone years ago. have thrown all 3000+ units away. so i'm closing this thread for good. it's useless even if they realise their mistake/error now.

 

I've also banned linksys globally from all our subsidiaries and company as their competitor has signed with me for 5 years. 

Highlighted
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-21-2018

Re: WAP300N becomes unresponsive after switch to 5GHz

what happens when linksys sells out to the garbage at belkin letting netgear surpass them 10 fold for quality and customer service