Reply
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: WAP300N - not connecting to router

Have already tried that. Thanks for pointing me back to Linksys KB page.

Obviously the default settings are NOT working. Does this device REALLY support WAP mode? I'm beginning to think NOT. May be just an expensive range extender.

Would love to hear from anyone with any experience with this actual device actually getting it to work in WAP mode.
Posts: 276
Registered: ‎10-26-2013

Re: WAP300N - not connecting to router

[ Edited ]

Hi zx504, I have read the thread. You mentioned that you wanna use this to extend the wireless signal to an area that receives no signal from the router which is E4200 v1, right? Is this how your network looks like?

 

Setup.JPG

 

This area that doesn't have wifi, how far is it from the router? The Access Point mode is the default setting of the Linksys WAP300N.

Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: WAP300N - not connecting to router

Nice pic. Exactly right. 100+ feet away I have CAT6 cabling that is currently serving network devices but the wireless signal from the 4200 does not reach there. I want to add an AP not a RE (because no wireless signal). So at the end of your Enet3 there are currently network devices, I want to hang an AP off Enet3 (either direct cable back to LAN port on 4200 or via switch then back to LAN port on 4200).
Posts: 441
Registered: ‎10-27-2013

Re: WAP300N - not connecting to router

Yes, you can basically use the WAP300n as a Wireless Access Point. Follow this link: Setting WAP300N to Access Point Mode

Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: WAP300N - not connecting to router

[ Edited ]

please - does anyone out there have any REAL experience with this device?

Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-18-2014

Re: WAP300N - not connecting to router

I've same problem with you. anyone can solve this problem. Linksys please help us.
Posts: 627
Registered: ‎10-26-2013

Re: WAP300N - not connecting to router

 Hi miorsaifulnizam1983,

As long as the WAP300N is wired to the router, it should obtain an IP address from it. The thing that you need to configure correctly is the wireless part since it has 4 types of Operation Mode.

Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-18-2014

Re: WAP300N - not connecting to router

Can u give the spesific answer..

 

I dont know how to solve..

Posts: 276
Registered: ‎10-26-2013

Re: WAP300N - not connecting to router

Hi miorsaifulnizam1983, if you want to set it as an Access Point then follow this link: http://kb.linksys.com/Linksys/ukp.aspx?vw=1&docid=6318eaaff2ef4b3cb7fd6050b9898754_Setting_the_WAP30...

 

Title: Setting the WAP300N to Access Point mode

Article ID: 28158

 

For the wireless settings you may click on the "Wireless" tab. It is selectable dual band, it can operate in either 2.4 GHz or 5.0 GHz radio bands.

 

For the initial setup make sure that it is near the router.

 

WAP300N.JPG

 

WAP300N1.JPG

Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-11-2018

Re: WAP300N - not connecting to router

If we are using static ip address with main router, then how we can enter Static IP  in AP