WDS between LAPN and LAPAC

Hi guys,

i am trying to set up my three AC : 2xLAPN600 and 1 LAPAC1750PRO in my 2 floor building.

First floor i have got Router wired to LAPAC1750PRO, at the second floor i've got on two opposite sides the 2 LAPN600 that are connected wireless to the Lapac.

I've tried to connect Lapac through WDS protocol to each LAPN using a single WDS interface for each of them ( using the appropriate mac adress and no security key ) . 

The first i noticed, lapn web interfaces contains a wds root option meanwhile lapac just hold wds interfaces options.

On all of them i've set a static ip address and DCHP server is enabled from the main router.

Using WDS i had no success in getting a successful internet connection, meanwhile using workgroup bridge i had it.

I am a beginner in everything related to network infrastructures,so any help would be appreciated about this, just to understand i ncase what i am doing wrong with this set up.

Thanks in advance,

Alessio.

Expert

Re: WDS between LAPN and LAPAC

The LAPAC1750PRO is the only Linksys AP that can't be configured as a WDS Root. You will have to designate one of your LAPN600s' as your WDS Root and connect the other APs' to it.

Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support

Thanks Chad for your reply,

so as i supposed it could not work.

So do i'll have any advantages in switching Second floor LAPN with 1st floor LAPAC? is just a matter of protocol between Workgroup and WDS ? My environment is based on 40 clients access  per hour, not more than 20 simultaneously what would it be a good set up starting from the fact that just 1 AP can be wired connect to base router?

Thanks in advance chad, i appreciate your help

Alessio

Expert

AlessioZ1 wrote:

Thanks Chad for your reply,

so as i supposed it could not work.