Reply
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-16-2007

NSLU2 - Won't reset to defaults?

My NSLU2 is connected to my router, as is my PC. It powers up normally. I am unable to log into it or even ping it. Lights on the NSLU2 and router are normal.
 
My PC network is 192.168.1.0/24. My PC is at 192.168.1.64. My router is at 192.168.1.1.
 
I hold down the reset button on the NSLU2 for 10 seconds (until it beeps) but it never gets the default IP of 192.168.1.77.
 
I don't recall what firmware is installed. I also don't remember if it set for DHCP or a hardcoded IP (but shouldn't matter since I reset it).
 
There are no drives connected to the NSLU2 at this time.
 
Is there another reset procedure to follow? Are there other IP's that this unit could be defaulting to?
 
What should I do next?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-16-2007

Re: NSLU2 - Won't reset to defaults?

I had a similiar reset issue... the linksys rep said to hold the reset button down for 30 seconds and it worked for me.
 
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-01-2007

Re: NSLU2 - Won't reset to defaults?

It doesn't work for me...how can I reset all? Thank you.
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-19-2008

Re: NSLU2 - Won't reset to defaults?

I have the same problem.

My first NSLU2 worked very nicely for about 6 months and then one day just wouldn't power on.

I was sent a replacement (after about 6 weeks) I have just tried to use the brand new replacement and cannot get any response from it at all.

It seems to boot up ok, starts with a flashing amber light and then all resolves to 4 x steady green lights.

But when I try the setup wizard it cannot find it.

When I try to get to it via 192.168.1.77 I just get 404 errors.

I have tried it via my router and also plugged directly into my pc's Ethernet port.

I have tried holding the reset button until it beeps.

I have tried holding the reset button until it beeps and then switching the power. on and off.

I have tried holding the reset button for 30 seconds.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-13-2010

Re: NSLU2 - Won't reset to defaults?

I purchased a used NSLU2 and also could not reset it to default settings, i.e. the router would never use the IP 192.168.1.177. I pressed the reset button for 2, 10, 30 seconds several times, but it just did not work.

From the lights, though, it seemed to power up and it also found the hard disk attached to port 1.

 

What to do now? Here is how I did it:

 

Setup a two computer network, either using a crossover cable or a network hub with just the two computers attached. Follow these steps:

 

1. Shut down the NSLU2

2. Issue the following command at the other computer (in this case Mac OS X): 

# sudo tcpdump -s 1500 -i en0

You may need to alter 'en0' to the device with which you are plugged in to the network. With linux, this could be 'eth0'

You can also use a programm such as wireshark to sniff the traffic.

3. Startup the NSLU2 and watch the terminal of NSLU2. Soon, you see traffic such as below:

 

 

11:22:55.710860 IP 192.168.5.77.137 > 192.168.5.255.137: NBT UDP PACKET(137): REGISTRATION; REQUEST; BROADCAST
11:22:55.711481 IP 192.168.5.77.137 > 192.168.5.255.137: NBT UDP PACKET(137): REGISTRATION; REQUEST; BROADCAST
11:22:55.711990 IP 192.168.5.77.137 > 192.168.5.255.137: NBT UDP PACKET(137): REGISTRATION; REQUEST; BROADCAST

 

 

Here, the NSLU2 Samba server broadcasts a few packets, and you find that this particular maschine runs at the IP 192.168.5.77.

 

Now fire up a browser and visit http://192.168.5.77/ and hope that admin/admin gives administration access to the NSLU2.

 

Hope this helps...

 

 

Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-17-2010

Re: NSLU2 - Won't reset to defaults?

Thanks vmware1!  I used wireshark and a spare router and found my nslu2 was reset to 192.168.0.77.

Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-15-2011

Re: NSLU2 - Won't reset to defaults?

Dear VMware1,

 

I purchased a nslu2 on ebay, and can't access it via the browser or with the configuration software.

I followed your steps with tcpdump with my Ubuntu workstation and received following respons:

192.168.1.77.1025 > 239.255.255.250.1900 UDP

 

I suppose this means my nslu2 has the ip correct to 192.168.1.77?

The strange thing is that in my router I can see the nslu2 having ip 192.168.0.113.

 

I really would appreciate if you had some hint what I can do to access the nslu2.

Thanks!

Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-15-2012

Re: NSLU2 - Won't reset to defaults?

[ Edited ]

Old thread, but wanted to say thanks myself - managed to fix an old NSLU2 which was stuck on 10.0.0.77 despite repeated resets. Plugging it directly into a Linux laptop running Wireshark gave me the stuck IP address (10.0.0.7) after which I could set a spare router to 10.0.0.1 to access the Slug, and then changed the address to 192.168.1.77. Obviously there is a bit of a firmware bug which means factory resets don't always work...