Reply
Moderator
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎08-08-2017

Re: Etherney Backhaul speeds on bh_report

Let's have your case checked out with our Escalation Engineers, tonyboz. Please keep your lines open as they'll get in touch with you within 24-48 business hours.

Jo-Ann - 21744
Linksys Technical Support
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎12-23-2017

Re: Etherney Backhaul speeds on bh_report

 Node (MAC)  NODE IP          PARENT IP        Intf.  Chan.   RSSI(AP/STA)      Speed  State
------------  ---------------  ---------------  -----  -----   ------------  ---------  -----
149182xxxxx  192.168.10.28    192.168.10.33     eth0  wired              0  145.86300     up
58EF6xxxxx  192.168.10.38    192.168.10.33     eth0  wired              0  195.88000     up
58EFxxxxxxx 192.168.10.40    192.168.10.33      5GL  36           -64/-52   59.00100     up

Yup same issue speed report is weird. device is connected to 1GB network.

Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-20-2017

Re: Etherney Backhaul speeds on bh_report

Same issue here and I'm not entirely sure what the state of my ethernet backhaul is.  I am quite confident that it is completely broken, but somewhat reporting that it isn't broken.

 

Chan = Wired & State = Up

while

Parent IP = all over the place & Speed = all over the place

 

I would expect all nodes to be 172.16.1.5 (my parent node).  I have one using a child as a node and others reporting unknow.

I would expect the speed to be 1024 on all.  I have the "Unknown" parent nodes showing the correct speed, while the others showing mixed and less than 1024.

 

I have a each velop, including the parent, connected via CAT6 to a gig managed switch.  This switch has nothing funky on it that precludes each from communicating properly.  I'll add that it took me literally hours to get my velops to this state.  Previously I couldn't get all of them to even report as "wired".  When one would report "wired" then another would go offline (red) and flap. Eventually using the mixture of eth0 and eth1 that I have now I got each to come up like this.  

 

This is a mess!  I tried getting support help, but couldn't get anyone.  Chat told me to call a number and that number went unanswered.  Please help!  I want a five node velop working in bridge node and utilizing the ethernet backhaul.  This shouldn't be too much to ask... (I'm running the latest firmware, but happy to test something BETA if necessary. I'll also give someone at linksys complete access to my logs and/or system.)

 

Screen Shot 2018-02-17 at 8.12.20 AM.png

Moderator
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎08-08-2017

Re: Etherney Backhaul speeds on bh_report

Hello, jwl17330536. We've created a case for you and have endorsed it to our Product Experts for further assistance. They will be in touch you within 24-48 business hours.

Jo-Ann - 21744
Linksys Technical Support
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎01-15-2018

Re: Etherney Backhaul speeds on bh_report

Hi,

 

I am using

Firmware Version: 1.1.2.186205

And these issues seem to be cleared up or at least a lot better:

 

https://community.linksys.com/t5/Velop-Whole-Home-Wi-Fi/Looking-for-some-customers-that-are-doing-wi...

 

see if you can get hold of it

 

 

exm
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎09-11-2007

Re: Etherney Backhaul speeds on bh_report

 

Here's mine and I'm confused.

 

.198 is the master node. There's Gigabit switch connecting to:

.178 basement

.173 attic. This node is chained to .175

  Node (MAC)  NODE IP          PARENT IP        Intf.  Chan.   RSSI(AP/STA)      Speed  State
------------  ---------------  ---------------  -----  -----   ------------  ---------  -----
149182A149A8  192.168.1.175    Unknown           eth1  wired              0   1024.000     up
149182A587D4  192.168.1.178    Unknown           eth1  wired              0   1024.000     up
149182A5C548  192.168.1.173    192.168.1.198     eth1  wired              0   92.55600     up

 

All wiring is Cat6. How come .173 has a has lousy speed, but .175 chained to .173 has a good speed again?

Posts: 26
Registered: ‎01-15-2018

Re: Etherney Backhaul speeds on bh_report

reboot the system from the app. That should help.  The "unknown" part means it has lost its connection back to the main base.

 

I have found using the app to "reboot" the velop usually works. Failing that turn off each of the "unknown" nodes off and then they should reconnect.

 

bh_report
  Node (MAC)  NODE IP          PARENT IP        Intf.  Chan.   RSSI(AP/STA)      Speed  State
------------  ---------------  ---------------  -----  -----   ------------  ---------  -----
14918298FA1A  10.15.1.119      10.15.1.1         eth0  wired              0   1024.000     up
14918298FF18  10.15.1.50       10.15.1.1         eth1  wired              0   1024.000     up
149182A89AAE  10.15.1.201      10.15.1.1         eth1  wired              0   1024.000     up
exm
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎09-11-2007

Re: Etherney Backhaul speeds on bh_report

[ Edited ]

Rebooted. Now I get this:

 

bh_report
  Node (MAC)  NODE IP          PARENT IP        Intf.  Chan.   RSSI(AP/STA)      Speed  State
------------  ---------------  ---------------  -----  -----   ------------  ---------  -----
149182A149A8  192.168.1.175    192.168.1.178      5GH  149          -72/-72  139.48800     up
149182A587D4  192.168.1.178    192.168.1.198     eth1  wired              0  184.79400     up
149182A5C548  192.168.1.173    192.168.1.198     eth1  wired              0   92.28000     up

 

 Is .175 using wireless backhaul? Why not wired? That's weird.

Posts: 26
Registered: ‎01-15-2018

Re: Etherney Backhaul speeds on bh_report

If it says eth0 or eth1 it’s wired. 5ghz is WiFi backhaul.

The speed ignore. Firmware is screwy with that


exm
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎09-11-2007

Re: Etherney Backhaul speeds on bh_report

Did another reset:

 

bh_report
  Node (MAC)  NODE IP          PARENT IP        Intf.  Chan.   RSSI(AP/STA)      Speed  State
------------  ---------------  ---------------  -----  -----   ------------  ---------  -----
149182A149A8  192.168.1.175    192.168.1.198      5GH  149          -88/-86   93.24000     up
149182A587D4  192.168.1.178    192.168.1.198     eth1  wired              0  224.59000     up
149182A5C548  192.168.1.173    192.168.1.175     eth0  wired              0   1024.000     up

 

Again, .175 is wired to .198 using Cat6. why is it doing a WifFi backhaul?