Reply
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-21-2017

Limited Activity after gigabit switch

I set up my new Velop system without an issue.  My problem is this.  I installed a 5 port gigbit switch AFTER the parent node to supply a ROKU tv, Amazon Fire TV and Ooma phone via ethernet.  Initially all three would not work wired.  After some time the ROKU and Amazon finally worked via ethernet.  However the Ooma phone still will not work.  For kicks and giggles I hooked up my laptop to the switch and it will not work.  Running the troubleshooter on my PC shows no valid IP address.  I checked my ROKU and Amazon and they have IP addresses.  Why would they have obtained IP addresses and the others not  (I am assuming that is why they won't work)?  All the green and yellow lights are blinking on my switch.  I am by NO MEANS an expert here so please keep it simple for the networked challenged.  Smiley Happy

Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-21-2017

Re: Limited Activity after gigabit switch

I should probably clarify a couple of things.  My modem is a Nighthawk C7000.  I have the router function turned off and it is being used as modem only (yes, an expensive modem I know).  I tried plugging the ethernet cables from it to the aforementioned devices but that did not work either. 

 

So my setup is:

 

cable internet ----> Nighthawk modem ---> Velop Parent ---> Ethernet switch

Expert
Posts: 13,302
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: Limited Activity after gigabit switch


Budroe wrote:

I should probably clarify a couple of things.  My modem is a Nighthawk C7000.  I have the router function turned off and it is being used as modem only (yes, an expensive modem I know).  I tried plugging the ethernet cables from it to the aforementioned devices but that did not work either. 

 

So my setup is:

 

cable internet ----> Nighthawk modem ---> Velop Parent ---> Ethernet switch


Does the Primary Velop get a Public IP Address from the modem?


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-21-2017

Re: Limited Activity after gigabit switch

Not sure.  Tell me how to look please.

Expert
Posts: 13,302
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: Limited Activity after gigabit switch


Budroe wrote:

Not sure.  Tell me how to look please.


In the app:

 

Velop Administration => Click on primary node => WAN => IP Address

 


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-21-2017

Re: Limited Activity after gigabit switch

[ Edited ]

24.163.x.x is the WAN

Expert
Posts: 13,302
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: Limited Activity after gigabit switch

[ Edited ]

Budroe wrote:

24.163.x.x is the WAN


Ok that is good.

 

Everything should be working as long as the Velop system isn't in bridge mode.

 

What model of switch do you have? Do you have only one Ethernet port connected to the switch per node?


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-21-2017

Re: Limited Activity after gigabit switch

Switch is tp-link.  Model # TL-SG105.

 

Parent node is connected to the switch.  The other node is upstairs to feed wifi up there.

Expert
Posts: 13,302
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: Limited Activity after gigabit switch

It could be the switch because it has a built-in IGMP snooping feature that can't be disabled which could interfere with Velop node multicast communications between nodes.

 

http://forum.minimserver.com/showthread.php?tid=2722&pid=18335#pid18335


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-21-2017

Re: Limited Activity after gigabit switch

Can you suggest a Linksys 5 port switch?