Reply
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎01-07-2012

Re: No Connectivity with Cisco IOS switch

I have mine conected to a Cisco SG220 - so to your point this smells like something configured on the Cisco switch (on the assumption it works ok on the unmanaged switch).

 

Lets have a think what else could put the port in an admin disable mode - if you look under port management / port settings, do the operational status / speed and duplex states look ok?  (here's mine as an example)

 

Entry No. Port Description Port Type Operational Status Working Time Range Port Speed Duplex Mode LAG

25GE25 1000M-ComboCUp  1000MFull 

 

 

-The immediate options that spring to mind are also to check the loopback detection settings, and energy efficient ethernet.

-Under the log for 'RAM memory' you should also see a port state change when you connect it.

-Under security I would also check port security

 

Process of elimination I'm afraid....

 

Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-02-2018

Re: No Connectivity with Cisco IOS switch

Here is some output on the switchport in question.  The Velop is currently plugged into port Gi0/10.  Lookback is not set.  Note the port status is "notconnect" as if nothing is plugged in.  No port security.  Pretty much everything is set to auto with the exception of VLAN 10.  I've also tried this in trunk mode and with no VLAN configuration (native VLAN 1).  After gathering all this info, I plugged another device into this port and it came right up.  I also plugged the Velop back into the unmanged switch using the same cables and it came right up.  Everything works, just not together.  Let me know if you see anything in the output below.  

 

sh int gi0/10 status:
Port     Name                        Status         Vlan Duplex Speed Type
Gi0/10 VELOP_WIRELESS notconnect 10     auto      auto    10/100/1000BaseTX

 

Show running-config:
interface GigabitEthernet0/10
description VELOP_WIRELESS
switchport access vlan 10
switchport mode access

 

Show Interface GigabitEthernet0/10:
GigabitEthernet0/10 is down, line protocol is down (notconnect)
Hardware is Gigabit Ethernet, address is 000e.d7a5.a38a (bia 000e.d7a5.a38a)
Description: VELOP_WIRELESS
MTU 1500 bytes, BW 100000 Kbit, DLY 100 usec,
reliability 255/255, txload 1/255, rxload 1/255
Encapsulation ARPA, loopback not set
Keepalive set (10 sec)
Auto-duplex, Auto-speed, link type is auto, media type is 10/100/1000BaseTX
input flow-control is off, output flow-control is off
ARP type: ARPA, ARP Timeout 04:00:00
Last input 00:10:53, output 00:10:48, output hang never
Last clearing of "show interface" counters 00:00:15
Input queue: 0/75/0/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0
Queueing strategy: fifo
Output queue: 0/40 (size/max)
5 minute input rate 0 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec
5 minute output rate 0 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec
0 packets input, 0 bytes, 0 no buffer
Received 0 broadcasts (0 multicasts)
0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
0 input errors, 0 CRC, 0 frame, 0 overrun, 0 ignored
0 watchdog, 0 multicast, 0 pause input
0 input packets with dribble condition detected
0 packets output, 0 bytes, 0 underruns
0 output errors, 0 collisions, 0 interface resets
0 babbles, 0 late collision, 0 deferred
0 lost carrier, 0 no carrier, 0 PAUSE output
0 output buffer failures, 0 output buffers swapped out

 

Show Post:

Stored system POST messages:
POST: CPU Buffer Tests : Begin
POST: CPU Buffer Tests : End, Status Passed
POST: CPU Interface Tests : Begin
POST: CPU Interface Tests : End, Status Passed
POST: Switch Core Tests : Begin
POST: Switch Core Tests : End, Status Passed
POST: CPU Interface 2nd Stage Tests : Begin
POST: CPU Interface 2nd Stage Tests : End, Status Passed
POST: CAM Subsystem Tests : Begin
POST: CAM Subsystem Tests : End, Status Passed
POST: Ethernet Controller Tests : Begin
POST: Ethernet Controller Tests : End, Status Passed
POST: Loopback Tests : Begin
POST: Loopback Tests : End, Status Passed

 

Expert
Posts: 14,383
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: No Connectivity with Cisco IOS switch

Did you try a different switch port?

Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 370
Registered: ‎01-07-2012

Re: No Connectivity with Cisco IOS switch

Nothing odd in there - to your point the complete lack of L2 says to me its a physical thing. But those ports work with other devices, and the Velop works on other switches.
Process of elimination would say its cabling - but I guess thats the first thing you tried to change!