Reply
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-19-2017

Problem with obtaining IP address

So I just bought my velop a week ago to replace my 3 access point in the house. I was expecting easy setup using bridge mode and seamless mesh network but what I got is a mess network. I can sometimes connect but most of the time I can't because even when I put the 3 units in bridge mode, a lot of devices in my house can't get IP address.

 

Modem -> Asus AC68U (Ports filled up so I need to use switcher) -> Switcher -> 3 velop in parallel arrangement

 

My Asus AC68U acts as the main router with DHCP meanwhile I've already set the velop to bridge mode and I just don't understand why it won't work. What did I do wrong here? Considering how bridge mode shouldn't handle any IP assigment. My old setup consist of 3x Asus NH12 each working as single access point. I was intending to replace all 3 and make seamless experience in my house but to no avail.

Moderator
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎07-06-2016

Re: Problem with obtaining IP address

Hello there! It's recommended to have a node configured as a regular router/parent node first before switching to Bridge mode.

 

If you plan to set up all three nodes in bridge mode, configure each as router/parent node first. Once the node is up, you can then change it to bridge mode and wire it to the switch. However, if you plan on putting the nodes in one series, configure one node as the parent node, then connect the child nodes to it afterwards.

Harvey - 21598
Linksys Technical Support
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-24-2017

Re: Problem with obtaining IP address

I'm also having this problem. When in bridge mode the Velop isn't passing any IP addresses to devices - they all work when connected to my router's WiFi.

 

I've been struggling to track this issue down - it all works when not in bridge mode but my devices are on a different subnet (10.x.x.x) than my router-connected devices (192.168.1.x).

 

Anyone else have the same problem or any ideas?

Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: Problem with obtaining IP address

@jlmkerr

 

Are the Velop nodes firmware up-to-date? What other troubleshooting steps have you done so far? Also, for us to get a better overview of your network environment, how is everything set up?

Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-24-2017

Re: Problem with obtaining IP address

I'm running the latest app and firmware updates.
I've tried setting up the Velop at least ten times from a full reset. I've tried through the app and web CA link both when connected to my router, and when not connected to any other network kit first.

I've reverted to just trying to setup one node to get this working before adding any others. I've switched Velop units and re-tried all the configurations above.

I've restarted all network kit.

I'm running a Netgear DM200 VDSL modem connected to a Synology rt2600ac router. I want to keep this setup so I can use the VPN server and apps on the Synology router. I wasn't Velop to be my WiFi solution.

Things I've discovered:
The second Ethernet port on the Velop works and connected me to my network and gives out an IP address.
The Velop WiFi doesn't give out IP address when switched to Bridge mode, but does before this point (it sets itself up on a new subnet of 10.108.1.x and assigns addresses in this range).
After switching to Bridge mode I can access via my usual wired/wireless network on the IP 192.168.1.225 but the Velop diagnostic says the Wan IP is 192.168.1.225 but the LAN IP is still 10.108.1.1
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-24-2017

Re: Problem with obtaining IP address

Here is my Velop diagnostic information:

 

Router Information   Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Services   Internet Connection (IPv4)   Internet Connection (IPv6)   Local Network   DHCP Server   Wireless Scheduler   2.4 GHz Wireless Network   5 GHz1 Wireless Network   5 GHz2 Wireless Network   Ports  

Firmware Version:1.1.1.180735
Serial Number:20J10C62XXXXXX
Current Router Time:Wednesday, 24 May 2017 08:48:21 (GMT -07:00)
Current Browser Time:Wednesday, 24 May 2017 16:48:23 (GMT +01:00)
Internet MAC Address:14:91:82:98:F8:9A
Server Name:Linksys05123
Host Name:Linksys05123
Domain Name: 
 
Status:Stopped
 
Connection Type:Bridge
Internet Address:192.168.1.225
Subnet Mask:255.255.255.0
Default Gateway:192.168.1.254
DNS1:8.8.8.8
DNS2:8.8.4.4
DNS3: 
MTU:Auto
DHCP Lease Time:1440 Minutes
 
Connection Type:Disconnected
Internet Address: 
Default Gateway: 
DNS1: 
DNS2: 
DNS3: 
DHCP Lease Time: 
 
Local MAC Address:14:91:82:98:XX
IPv4 Address:10.154.1.1
IPv4 Subnet Mask:255.255.255.0
IPv6 Link-Local Address:fe80:0000:0000:0000:1691:82ff:fe98:f89a
Prefix Address: 
 
DHCP Server:Enabled
Start IP Address:10.154.1.10
End IP Address:10.154.1.254
Client lease time:1440 Minutes
Static DNS 1: 
Static DNS 2: 
Static DNS 3: 
WINS: 
 
Status:Disabled
Wireless Access:On
 
Status:Enabled
MAC Address:14:91:82:98:XX
Mode:802.11mixed
Network Name (SSID):Velop
Channel Width:Auto
Channel:Auto
Security:WPA2 Personal
 
Status:Enabled
MAC Address:14:91:82:98:XX
Mode:802.11mixed
Network Name (SSID):Velop
Channel Width:Auto
Channel:Auto
Security:WPA2 Personal
 
Status:Enabled
MAC Address:14:91:82:98:XX
Mode:802.11mixed
Network Name (SSID):Velop
Channel Width:Auto
Channel:Auto
Security:WPA2 Personal
 
 
  10/100Mbps 1Gbps
Internet X
  10/100Mbps 1Gbps
Expert
Posts: 14,162
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: Problem with obtaining IP address


jlmkerr wrote:

Here is my Velop diagnostic information:

   

Connection Type:Bridge
 
DHCP Server:Enabled
 
Status:Disabled

Does this indicate that the DHCP Server is enabled but then disabled after startup?

 

I'm wondering if the DHCP issue would clear up if you disable the node's DHCP Server via the WebUI.


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-24-2017

Re: Problem with obtaining IP address

I've now tried that and confirm that it doesn't fix the problem. 

 

New log output:

DHCP Server  

DHCP Server:Disabled
Start IP Address:10.154.1.10
End IP Address:10.154.1.254
Client lease time:1440 Minutes
Static DNS 1: 
Static DNS 2: 
Static DNS 3: 
WINS:
Expert
Posts: 14,162
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: Problem with obtaining IP address

Revert the settings change back to what it was so we can continue as the Velop was designed for Bridge Mode.

 

Do you only have one of the Velop Ethernet ports connected to the switch?


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-24-2017

Re: Problem with obtaining IP address

Reverted back - still not working.

 

Only one velop port is connected to the main router.