Reply
Highlighted
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-22-2017
Accepted Solution

Slow network speeds on brand new hardware

Hi,

I've got a 6-node Velop network, all ethernet backbone, placed around our house. At my desk, about 2m away from a child node (master node is in the basement) I've got very slow wifi speeds on a brand new iMac and brand new MacBook Pro. The firmware version has been manually downgraded to 1.1.2.183316.

Tx Rate is always below 54 Mbps and the PHY Mode is always 802.11a.

 

Any tips or tricks?

 

Screen Shot 2017-12-13 at 19.29.43.png

 

Screen Shot 2017-12-13 at 19.28.00.png

 

2.jpg

Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-22-2017

Re: Slow network speeds on brand new hardware

And one more annoying thing; my girlfriends' MacBook Pro, a 13" early 2014 is automatically connected to the main network, but is usually unable to access the internet.

When she switches to the guest network she is connected, and at full speed :-)

Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-22-2017

Re: Slow network speeds on brand new hardware

When connected to the guest wifi:

 

Screen Shot 2017-12-13 at 19.37.28.png

Expert
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎08-10-2017

Re: Slow network speeds on brand new hardware

[ Edited ]

Hi Rubin

 

  Can you specifically define your network typology?

 

  For example,

 

  modem-> master velop -> switch -> slave velops?

 

  How did you configure the velops? (what process did you use)?

 

  Also, what is your ISP downlink speed? How did you measure it?

 

Z

Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-22-2017

Re: Slow network speeds on brand new hardware

Hi Zoro,

This is the setup:

Capture.PNG

 

 

Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-22-2017

Re: Slow network speeds on brand new hardware

I recently upgraded, 

Download: 500 Mbps

Upload: 40 Mbps

 
With the Velop app:
IMG_0354kopie.jpg
 
iMac (ethernet):
 
Screen Shot 2017-12-14 at 10.28.26.png
 
MacBook Pro (wifi):
 
Screen Shot 2017-12-14 at 10.29.45.png
Expert
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎08-10-2017

Re: Slow network speeds on brand new hardware

[ Edited ]

Hi Ruben

 

   I'd like to try to help. I've had this problem also.

 

   I'd try putting your master velop directly connected to your modem like this:

 

 modem - > Master Velop -> Switch 1-> Decoder

                                                           -> Decoder

                                                           -> Switch 2 -> NAS1

                                                                              -> NAS2

                                                                              -> Switch 3 -> Slave velops

                                                                                                 -> Other devices

 

  Are these managed or unmanaged switches?

 

  Is there any way of getting the Slave velops higher in the food chain (i.e., attached to switch 1)?

 

  Specifically what model switches are your using? I assume they are Gb switches.

 

  Have you tried to run http://192.168.1.x/sysinfo.cgi to see what it reports on your nodes (where 192.168.1.x is the ip of your master node)? You'll need to enter admin for the login and you master velop password for password. Wait a few seconds and scroll doen to the bottom of the listing.

 

Z

 

 

Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-22-2017

Re: Slow network speeds on brand new hardware

Hi Zoro,

 

I see your point, though I cannot connect the master node directly to the modem. For some odd reason the TV decoders need to be directly connected to the modem also. The company, Telenet, requires this setup, otherwise you lose all interactive functions of the decoders. They get a special IP-address from the modem, so my master Velop has 192.168.1.1.

 

All cables are CAT6

All switches are Netgear GSS116E (gigabit - unmanaged)

 

The iMac is also connected to switch 3 and is getting full netwerk/internet speeds so I'm assuming that isn't causing the issue.

 

What part of the log do you need?

Expert
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎08-10-2017

Re: Slow network speeds on brand new hardware


RubenWinters wrote:

Hi Zoro,

 

I see your point, though I cannot connect the master node directly to the modem. For some odd reason the TV decoders need to be directly connected to the modem also. The company, Telenet, requires this setup, otherwise you lose all interactive functions of the decoders. They get a special IP-address from the modem, so my master Velop has 192.168.1.1.

 

All cables are CAT6

All switches are Netgear GSS116E (gigabit - unmanaged)

 

The iMac is also connected to switch 3 and is getting full netwerk/internet speeds so I'm assuming that isn't causing the issue.

 

What part of the log do you need?


Hi--

 

   If you look at the very end of the log (the "bh_report" section) you can see what the Velops are doing (speeds, firmware versions, connectivity, etc).  You're not the only one having speed problems with the backhaul configuration with regard to speed.

 

Z

 

Z

Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-22-2017

Re: Slow network speeds on brand new hardware

bh_report
Node (MAC) NODE IP PARENT IP Intf. Chan. RSSI(AP/STA) Speed State
------------ --------------- --------------- ----- ----- ------------ --------- -----
14918294xxx 192.168.1.209 Unknown eth1 wired 0 1024.000 up
14918294xxx 192.168.1.94 Unknown eth0 wired 0 1024.000 up
14918295xxx 192.168.1.66 Unknown eth1 wired 0 1024.000 up
14918295xxx 192.168.1.98 Unknown eth1 wired 0 1024.000 up
14918295xxx 192.168.1.92 Unknown eth1 wired 0 1024.000 up