Reply
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-16-2018

Velop Firmware1.1.2.186308

I've been on this for 2 weeks now, and I have to say, my 2 Node system is performing as well, or actually better than my Asus NightHawk Router...with custom 'Merlin' Firmware on it....

 

The Asus was the ONLY recent  router, to penetrate my 3 level,apartment, with the Router in a semi metal lined building....the Velop actually gives me a MUCH stronger signal, and coverage also

 

Hope I havent  jinxed myself!!

Posts: 82
Registered: ‎06-11-2017

Re: Velop Firmware1.1.2.186308

Hello @Kerriskandiesinc

 

I am cursed with boundless optimism. For me the glass is always half full. 

 

So - notwithstanding the fact that I have tried this version before and found it just as awful as all the others - based on your experience I have moved my 5-node system back to that version for another go. I'll see if it works and report back.

 

Can I just ask - what is your configuration? ie Are you in Bridge mode, or using the Velops without another network infrastructure?

Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-16-2018

Re: Velop Firmware1.1.2.186308

Purely a Master, Skave Node 2 Velop System, wireless behind my main Modem

I completely ditched the Asus Nighthawk , my Master Velop seems to ( almost) replicate its range anyway , Master is Ground floor ( separate .... but attached Brick/ Steel building ) , Slave about 75 ft away on 2 nd floor . Whole building/ Apartment is about 5000 sq ft
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-16-2018

Re: Velop Firmware1.1.2.186308

Handoff to Slave isn’t ALWAYS perfect , but I tend to reboot some of my systems every one to two weeks anyways, which usually sees them re handshake with the ( closest, strongest, fastest ) Slave Node . I only have a modest 2 Meg pipe , even my slowest, furthest Wireless devices pull just over half that speed, minimum , some usually a good deal more almost attaining 80% ..... maybe , luckily I’m not asking too much of the Velops ??
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎06-11-2017

Re: Velop Firmware1.1.2.186308

Oh wow, and I thought I was a reasonably contented, undemanding person!! Smiley Happy

 

So you're getting imperfect hand-off, required rebooting, range *nearly* as good as a standalone router and sometimes up to 2 meg speed ... and still you are happy with the Velop. Makes me wonder what your experience was with the NightHawk under Merlin - or any other network for that matter! Smiley Happy  

 

I have to say that I ask a bit more from my wifi network than you - things like dependable usability, reliability, resilience. But I'm happy you're happy. 

 

 

Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-16-2018

Re: Velop Firmware1.1.2.186308

Handoff has improved greatly, with this Beta? release?

 

The NetGear Nighthawk was the ONLY recent router to even connect, seeing as it and the Modem are in a brick/steel lined building

 

I think the Master Velop alone is almost as good, BUT with the Slave on the second floor, about 75 ft from Master, I now have a MUCH stronger Up/Down speed than the NightHawk could ever attain, in those 'far' corners

 

Hey...it's working , I'm usually getting 85% of my advertised 'wired' speed, all over the building....

 

I'm happy, thus far

Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-16-2018

Re: Velop Firmware1.1.2.186308

Merlin and the NightHawk was the best experience I had had, thus far....my building is part business/apartment, and is brick, steel lined in places....NO other Router has even come close to the NightHawk, the (2) Velop system DOES better it, considerably, I was just espousing that the Master alone almost equals it....a reasonable achievement, in my opinion...
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-16-2018

Re: Velop Firmware1.1.2.186308

This is from the Slave node, a good......40 ft, total about 125? ft from my Modem/Master, this on a 200Mbps 'wired' connection

screenshot_34.png

Posts: 82
Registered: ‎06-11-2017

Re: Velop Firmware1.1.2.186308

So I woke this morning to a complete failure of the Velop wifi networks - no connectivity of smart devices, automationfailures etc. I didn't have the time or inclination for a complete investigation, but suspect - given the phone reaction - a DHCP issue.

 

Velop soft restart - no obvious improvement. Velop hard restart and it's up again.   

 

<sigh> So much for that firmware.

Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-11-2018

Re: Velop Firmware1.1.2.186308

My configuration that works well for me:

 

I have AT&T Uverse and enabled Passthru mode (same thing as BRIDGE mode on a cable modem).   This passes the external IP address directly to your Linksys Velop parent node (so it doesnt have a 192.168.1.x IP address from the Uverse modem, it has a 99.xx.xx.xx.IP address directly from Uverse.   

 

Then I use DHCP on the Velop system (not the Uverse gateway/modem).   It works great for me.

 

I only have a 50mbps download/6mbps upload from Uverse.

 

My parent node is - 1 ethernet cable to the Uverse modem.    1 ethernet cable to an Linksys 8 port ethernet switch.   My child node is plugged into the ethernet switch and then the ethernet port on the child node.    Then my other ethernet devices are plugged into the 8 port switch (laptops, desktops, printers, security cam, etc).

 

I am very happy with the reception, wifi speed, distance, etc.