Reply
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-27-2017

Re: Velop in Bridge Mode Failed to Obtain IP Adress

Ankushk - I'm having the same issue - in bridge mode various (iOS, hardwired to a node, and Windows) devices seem to get kicked off the network at times. I took jeffellington advice and rebooted everything, holding back ALL my Velop devices until the router was up on the network (fully functional). It seems to have helped. But it's only been a couple of minutes - lets see how it works throughout the day. This makes sense (though I've no idea how the Linksys folks let this happen). If the Velop and the cable modem are both trying to assign IPs that's gonna end badly. If I continue to see fallouts when the network is functioning properly without interuption, I'm going to get second level help, and if that doesn't fix the problems, return the devices - completely unacceptable at this price point.

Expert
Posts: 13,342
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: Velop in Bridge Mode Failed to Obtain IP Adress


sandiver wrote:

 

If the Velop and the cable modem are both trying to assign IPs that's gonna end badly.


Is you network topology?

Modem => Velop Primary Node

 

If the Velop system is configured Bridge Mode then the modem must be in a Router/Gateway mode with DHCP Server.


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-26-2017

Re: Velop in Bridge Mode Failed to Obtain IP Adress

Network topology is:

Basic Modem -> Router (DHCP+DNS+other features) with WiFi disabled -> Velop in bridge mode. Unless i set a static IP on the wifi device, it will not connect to the Velop.

If I switch the Velop to regular mode while connected to the same router, it works as well but has a different subnet.

Expert
Posts: 13,342
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: Velop in Bridge Mode Failed to Obtain IP Adress

It should be good.

Dio you have new ssids on the velop?

Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-26-2017

Re: Velop in Bridge Mode Failed to Obtain IP Adress

Yes it has a new SSID. It is visible from my portable devices but they wont connect to them unless a static ip is assigned.

Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-26-2017

Re: Velop in Bridge Mode Failed to Obtain IP Adress

Here is the diag info:

DHCP server is not supposed to be running while in Bridge mode.. My computer is connected through the Velop LAN and is fine, its just the wifi.

 

Firmware Version:1.1.2.183316
Serial Number:20J10CREMOVED
Current Router Time:Thursday, 28 December 2017 19:36:43 (GMT -05:00)
Current Browser Time:Thursday, 28 December 2017 19:36:44 (GMT -05:00)
Internet MAC Address:14:91:82:9D:REM
Server Name:Linksys45597
Host Name:Linksys45597
Domain Name: 
 
Status:Connected
 
Connection Type:Bridge                   <<<<---------------
Login Status:  ConnectDisconnect
Internet Address:192.168.14.127
Subnet Mask:255.255.255.0
Default Gateway:192.168.14.1
DNS1:192.168.14.1
DNS2: 
DNS3: 
MTU:Auto
DHCP Lease Time:1440 Minutes
 
Connection Type:Disconnected
Internet Address: 
Default Gateway: 
DNS1: 
DNS2: 
DNS3: 
DHCP Lease Time: 
 
Local MAC Address:14:91:82:9D:REM
IPv4 Address:10.71.1.1
IPv4 Subnet Mask:255.255.255.0
IPv6 Link-Local Address:fe80:0000:0000:0000:1691:82ff:REMOVED
Prefix Address: 
 
DHCP Server:Enabled                  <<<<---------------
Start IP Address:10.71.1.170
End IP Address:10.71.1.229
Client lease time:1440 Minutes
Static DNS 1: 
Static DNS 2: 
Static DNS 3: 
WINS: 
 
OpenVPN Server: 
Server Address: 
Service Port: 
Protocol: 
IP Address Range: 
Users:
Username:
 
Status: 
Wireless Access: 
 
Status: 
 
Status:Enabled
MAC Address:14:91:82:9D:REM
Mode:802.11mixed
Network Name (SSID):WiFiOn
Channel Width:Auto
Channel:Auto
Security:WPA2 Personal
 
Status:Enabled
MAC Address:14:91:82:9D:REM
Mode:802.11mixed
Network Name (SSID):WiFiOn
Channel Width:Auto
Channel:Auto
Security:WPA2 Personal
 
Status:Enabled
MAC Address:14:91:82:9D:REM
Mode:802.11mixed
Network Name (SSID):WiFiOn
Channel Width:Auto
Channel:Auto
Security:WPA2 Personal
 
 
Encapsulation: 
Multiplexing: 
QoS: 
PCR: 
SCR: 
VPI: 
VCI: 
Modulation: 
 
Status: 
  Downstream Upstream
Data Rate  
Output Power  
Noise Margin  
Attenuation  
 
  10/100Mbps 1Gbps
Internet X
  10/100Mbps 1Gbps
1X 
 
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-15-2017

Re: Velop in Bridge Mode Failed to Obtain IP Adress

Did you  change your SSID?  Did you roboot your phones?

Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-15-2017

Re: Velop in Bridge Mode Failed to Obtain IP Adress

Sorry.  Did not see the prior posts.

Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-15-2017

Re: Velop in Bridge Mode Failed to Obtain IP Adress

what are the devices with the 10.71.... ips?

Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-26-2017

Re: Velop in Bridge Mode Failed to Obtain IP Adress

The 10.71.** IP came automatically from the Linksys, I dont have any 10.* on my home network.

I tried to downgrade to 1.1.2.181801 but still have the same issue. The moment I give my wireless devices (ios and android) a static IP, it connects fine; I've also rebooted them like you said above..