Reply
idq
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-23-2016

Velop timeout again and again, how can I fix this?

Hi, 

 

I'm starting to give up. I previously had a two wrt3200 routers which I got replaced with a Velop setup after numerous firmware issues. The first two weeks I had no issues at all, everything was great but then suddenly a couple of days ago things got bad. Now I have to reset the system each day to be able to use it. 

 

Trying to explain the problem. Take youtube for example. I can load the page but only a couple of video thumnails will load, refreshing the page might load a cuple more. Another example might be a file that I want to download, it will start but stops after a couple of seconds then times out. It's like it will start a job loading a webpage or resource then just abort. 

 

I have tried running 3 and 4 nodes where two with wired connection using 1.1.2.185309. The nodes all have good connection and if I run a Speed check I get good results. The only way I have been able to fix this is to restart the system, which I need to do alot. I starting to feel like a beta tester. Any advice on what I can do to fix this or should I just ask for my money back.

Expert
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎08-10-2017

Re: Velop timeout again and again, how can I fix this?


@wrote:

Hi, 

 

I'm starting to give up. I previously had a two wrt3200 routers which I got replaced with a Velop setup after numerous firmware issues. The first two weeks I had no issues at all, everything was great but then suddenly a couple of days ago things got bad. Now I have to reset the system each day to be able to use it. 

 

Trying to explain the problem. Take youtube for example. I can load the page but only a couple of video thumnails will load, refreshing the page might load a couple more. Another example might be a file that I want to download, it will start but stops after a couple of seconds then times out. It's like it will start a job loading a webpage or resource then just abort. 

 

I have tried running 3 and 4 nodes where two with wired connection using 1.1.2.185309. The nodes all have good connection and if I run a Speed check I get good results. The only way I have been able to fix this is to restart the system, which I need to do alot. I starting to feel like a beta tester. Any advice on what I can do to fix this or should I just ask for my money back.


Hi idq

   Can you provide your configuration? For example:

  modem -> velop (master) -> velop (wired)
                                          -> velop (wireless)

Do you have the same version of firmware on all nodes?

Z

 

idq
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-23-2016

Re: Velop timeout again and again, how can I fix this?

Current configuration using 3 nodes: modem -> velop(master, *.1) -> velop(wired, *.51) -> velop(wifi, *.36)

 

all running fw 1.1.2.185309

 

bh_report
NODE IP          PARENT IP        Intf.  Chan.   RSSI(AP/STA)      Speed  State
---------------  ---------------  -----  -----   ------------  ---------  -----
192.168.1.36     192.168.1.1        5GH  100          -92/-89    0.69900     up
192.168.1.51     Unknown           eth1  wired              0   1024.000     up

 

show_devices
 No.        IP           Conn.    Stat        Name            FW Ver         Role
----  ----------------  --------  ----  ----------------  ----------------  ------
      192.168.1.1       wired     Up    Cellar            1.1.2.185309      master 
                        wireless  Down  Living Room       1.1.2.185309      slave  
      192.168.1.51      wired     Up                                               
                        wireless  Down                                             
                        wireless  Up    Family Room       1.1.2.185309      slave  
      192.168.1.36      wired     Up                                               
                        wireless  Down 

 

Posts: 82
Registered: ‎06-11-2017

Re: Velop timeout again and again, how can I fix this?

Go back to where you bought the Velops and get a refund. Quickly.

 

Don't become one of us - the people who haunt this forum, waiting in vain for firmware which works, with only our own misery to protect us from the constant abuse directed at us by family members fed up with useless home wifi.

Expert
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎08-10-2017

Re: Velop timeout again and again, how can I fix this?

[ Edited ]

wrote:

Current configuration using 3 nodes: modem -> velop(master, *.1) -> velop(wired, *.51) -> velop(wifi, *.36)

 

all running fw 1.1.2.185309

 

bh_report
NODE IP          PARENT IP        Intf.  Chan.   RSSI(AP/STA)      Speed  State
---------------  ---------------  -----  -----   ------------  ---------  -----
192.168.1.36     192.168.1.1        5GH  100          -92/-89    0.69900     up
192.168.1.51     Unknown           eth1  wired              0   1024.000     up

 

show_devices
 No.        IP           Conn.    Stat        Name            FW Ver         Role
----  ----------------  --------  ----  ----------------  ----------------  ------
      192.168.1.1       wired     Up    Cellar            1.1.2.185309      master 
                        wireless  Down  Living Room       1.1.2.185309      slave  
      192.168.1.51      wired     Up                                               
                        wireless  Down                                             
                        wireless  Up    Family Room       1.1.2.185309      slave  
      192.168.1.36      wired     Up                                               
                        wireless  Down 

 


Hi idq--

 

   The configuration looks good. Any indication this is an ISP problem?

 

Z

idq
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-23-2016

Re: Velop timeout again and again, how can I fix this?

[ Edited ]

@PianSom Thanks for the straight answer, i'm laughing and crying at the same time.

 

@

 

 

Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2018

Re: Velop timeout again and again, how can I fix this?

I am returning the whole stuff to the shop,

 

after 3 monts of flawless operation the trouble starts, I think after some badly tested firmware upgrade one week ago. I had the same kind of poblems with  older equipment of linksys.

 

Time to switch to industrial grade stuff: cisco.

Expert
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎08-22-2017

Re: Velop timeout again and again, how can I fix this?

Hi, CarlWolff.

 

Allow us to check on this with you.

 

What is the firmware version the Velop is currently running at?

 

Can we know more about what happened with the Velop system and what workarounds have you done so far?

Coleen_R 21984
Linksys Technical Support
Posts: 363
Registered: ‎01-07-2012

Re: Velop timeout again and again, how can I fix this?

@CarlWolff - it is a bit of a trial and error process, but some firmwares are better than others. The current one recently released (1.1.2.187020) seems to be pretty solid - but there may be something else going on if support can poke around.
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2018

Re: Velop timeout again and again, how can I fix this?

Hello, thanks fro help.

See router status report output below:

 

Router Information  Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Services  Internet Connection (IPv4)  Internet Connection (IPv6)  Local Network  DHCP Server  2.4 GHz Wireless Network  5 GHz Wireless Network  5 GHz Wireless Network  Ports  

Firmware Version:1.1.2.187020
Serial Number:20J10C64701537
Current Router Time:Wednesday, 04 April 2018 21:28:04 (GMT +02:00)
Current Browser Time:Wednesday, 04 April 2018 21:28:06 (GMT +02:00)
Internet MAC Address:14:91:82:B2Smiley Very Happy8:62
Server Name:Linksys01537
Host Name:Linksys01537
Domain Name: 
 
Status:Connected
 
Connection Type:Automatic Configuration - DHCP
Internet Address:77.174.234.125
Subnet Mask:255.255.255.0
Default Gateway:77.174.234.1
DNS1:85.113.233.93
DNS2:85.113.233.94
DNS3: 
MTU:Auto
DHCP Lease Time:60 Minutes
 
Connection Type:6rd Tunnel
Internet Address:2001:0838:adea:7d00:1691:82ff:feb2:d862
Default Gateway: 
DNS1: 
DNS2: 
DNS3: 
DHCP Lease Time: 
 
Local MAC Address:14:91:82:B2Smiley Very Happy8:62
IPv4 Address:192.168.1.1
IPv4 Subnet Mask:255.255.255.0
IPv6 Link-Local Address:fe80:0000:0000:0000:1691:82ff:feb2:d862
Prefix Address: 
 
DHCP Server:Enabled
Start IP Address:192.168.1.10
End IP Address:192.168.1.254
Client lease time:1440 Minutes
Static DNS 1: 
Static DNS 2: 
Static DNS 3: 
WINS: 
 
Status:Enabled
MAC Address:14:91:82:B2Smiley Very Happy8:63
Wi-Fi Mode:802.11mixed
Wi-Fi Name:wobat676
Channel Width:Auto
Channel:Auto
Security:WPA2 Personal
 
Status:Enabled
MAC Address:14:91:82:B2Smiley Very Happy8:64
Wi-Fi Mode:802.11mixed
Wi-Fi Name:wobat676
Channel Width:Auto
Channel:Auto
Security:WPA2 Personal
 
Status:Enabled
MAC Address:14:91:82:B2Smiley Very Happy8:65
Wi-Fi Mode:802.11mixed
Wi-Fi Name:wobat676
Channel Width:Auto
Channel:Auto
Security:WPA2 Personal
 
 
  10/100Mbps 1Gbps
InternetX 
  10/100Mbps 1Gbps
1X 
 

 

Note my modem has a 10/100mbit link.