Reply
Highlighted
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-03-2017
Accepted Solution

LRT 214 and DHCP

I have an LRT214 as my core router that connects to an EA9500 operating in Bridge mode to provide wireless access to my network.  For weeks, the system is having a hard time with DHCP.  It fails to respond to DHCP requests.  My wifes Apple Mac is showing a 192.168.0.xxx when network is set up as 192.168.1.xxx.  Any ideas?

 

I am running firmware 1.0.6.04 on LRT214.

I have put an IP & MAC binding for her machine of 102.168.1.109 

 

This device was connected last night and this morning nothing.

 

 

 

 

Expert
Posts: 14,287
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: LRT 214 and DHCP

[ Edited ]

Below are some network instances that can cause this issue:

  1. A rogue DHCP server on the network
  2. The laptop is connecting to an outside network instead of your network
  3. The laptop is set to a Static IP Address

Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-03-2017

Re: LRT 214 and DHCP

Thanks for quick response.

 

I do not have a rogue DHCP server on network,  I have 3 computers in the house, 2 are hard wired through ethernet connections and the last computer is the wife's Apple Mac.  I can see that her Mac connected to the EA9500 which is running in bridge mode and the Mac has an address in the 192.168.0.xxx network (wrong for house).  The laptop does not have a static IP address.

 

Any other thoughts?  

Expert
Posts: 14,287
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: LRT 214 and DHCP

That's what is strange because the mac is getting DHCP from some server and that server would be the mac's default gateway address


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-03-2017

Re: LRT 214 and DHCP

I agree it is puzzling. I am wondering if the ea9500 is acting up or if the re7000 has somehow connected to something strange. Unfortunately I can't see the config of the ea9500 device in bridge mode. I can see Mac has connected to it and gotten that dhcp address from somewhere
Expert
Posts: 14,287
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: LRT 214 and DHCP

What is the mac's default gateway

Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Expert
Posts: 14,287
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: LRT 214 and DHCP

You can set the EA9500 with a static up address when it's configured bridge mode

Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-03-2017

Re: LRT 214 and DHCP

192.168.1.1 is the default gateway for Mac and it is the address of the LRT214 core router.

 

Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-03-2017

Re: LRT 214 and DHCP

When the ea9500 was originally setup it was given a static ip address

 

Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-03-2017

Re: LRT 214 and DHCP

I responded to this thread from my phone and it logged it somehow as solved.  This is not correct.  This configuration still has issues and her machine is off the network.