Highlighted
Accepted Solution

LRT224 IPv6 ICMPv6 Rules

Hello everyone!

I'm a bit new to Ipv6, but my ISP has just deployed native IPv6 addresses and I'm trying to use them.

I've been having a little problem, though. I have a LRT224, and how do I create a IPv6 access rule?

I've noticed the default firewall settings are dropping ICMPv6 packets from my ipv6 hosts behind the firewall. 

I went to firewall -> Access rules -> IPv6 and tried to create a rule. But when I try to add a new service I only get protocols IPv6, TCP or UDP. But what I want is to let it pass ICMPv6 through. I saw it has a preset rule to let the Ping service go through, but AFAIK for IPv6 to work properly I have to other ICMPv6 traffic to go through, not only Ping.

And trying to create an IPv6 protocol service does not work, it only lets me type the name of the service but it greys out the port numbers.

So it all boils down to the following: How do I let ICMPv6 traffic through this firewall? Wthout it my IPv6 connection seems broken and there are some site I can't access, probably because without ICMPv6 PMTUD is being broken.

Thanks!

Re: LRT224 IPv6 ICMPv6 Rules

No one?? Plzzz?? Chadster / Moderator / someone from Belkin / Linksys??

Expert

I think if you enable Ping on the WAN then the whole ICMP protocol will be allowed through.

Regardless ICMP for IPv6 is largely unimplemented on the rest of the Internet due to the fact that it's almost impossible to get an end to end packet size on today ISP networks to remove packet fragmentation. Most are instead just setting a small MTU like the standard 1280 MTU which all IPv6 network must support.

Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support

Hi Chadster,