Reply
Highlighted
prr
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-27-2009
Accepted Solution

Find channel options on Linksys E1200

[ Edited ]

Bought the E1200 wireless router a couple of years ago. Up till now, it's been doing well. Last few months, the internet has been going on and off--sometimes shutting down both wired and wireless every 30 mins, usually longer than that.

 

I (almost) always see all the modem lights on, so I'm suspecting it is a router issue.  Firmwas was updated last week.

 

Called Spectrum cable provider. They said my modem up and downstream power levels were ok. The tech support wanted me to make sure the channel on my router was set to 1, 6, or 11. I logged in to my router via my wireless laptop but couldn't find the page that lets me adjust the channel setting.

 

How do I find this on the E1200?

Linksys E1200
N300
Expert
Posts: 13,614
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: Find channel options on Linksys E1200

Wireless => Basic Wireless Settings


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
prr
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-27-2009

Re: Find channel options on Linksys E1200

I looked there while I was talking to the Spectrum support, but didn't see anything there. Here is a screenshot:

 

Router.png

Linksys E1200
N300
Expert
Posts: 13,614
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: Find channel options on Linksys E1200

[ Edited ]

Since you have WPS set as your primary wireless configuration you have no setting options.

 

Change this to Manual and configure your wireless.


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
prr
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-27-2009

Re: Find channel options on Linksys E1200

Thanks. I was able to set up my router so I was on channel 1 now.

 

My new settings are like so:    Do any of these represent a security issue, or should I be good with them as they are?

 

NewSettings.png

Linksys E1200
N300
Expert
Posts: 13,614
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: Find channel options on Linksys E1200


@wrote:

Thanks. I was able to set up my router so I was on channel 1 now.

 

My new settings are like so:    Do any of these represent a security issue, or should I be good with them as they are?

 

NewSettings.png


Did you configure Wireless => Security? If not then you need to. I recommend "WPA2 Personal" not mixed.


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
prr
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎07-27-2009

Re: Find channel options on Linksys E1200

Thanks. I just made the change you recommended.

 

Appreciate your time.

Linksys E1200
N300