Reply
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-24-2017

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

I am happy to report that since I did the first reboot of my router, I have had no more issues with the 2.4 Ghz network. I have a couple of devices on it, and they are working fine along with the 5 Ghz devices. I am very happy with my new router.

Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-05-2017

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

This is most likely NOT a hardware issue, but is a firmware problem. I have the most current firmware and have experienced this issue - I was able to resolve it by reinstalling the firmware a couple of times. I wish Linksys would acknowledge this is a firmware issue and fix it!
Expert
Posts: 13,339
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

[ Edited ]

If you would like to try a WRT3200ACM Beta Firmware to see if it resolves your issue Private Message me the below information by clicking on my forum username:

 

Subject: WRT3200ACM Beta Firmware Request

 

Full Name

Address State and Country

Email address to send the Beta Tester Agreement to

 

The WRT3200ACM beta is no longer available since it's now a production release and can be downloaded from the Linksys support site.


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-05-2017

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

My newest challenge is that the router will drop its internet connection, but the status light on the front shows it is active (the home page of the router shows it is down).

Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-14-2017

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

I had the same problem today. What ended up helping me was going into the browser settings. And doing it manually. (The iOS app didn't do anything.)

1) Factory reboot.
2) Downgrading my firmware in Troubleshoot.
3) Once that was done, I upgraded back to the new firmware under Connectivity. And turning off automatic updates.

Oddly enough was I had the latest firmware and that wasn't letting me see the 2.4 network. Neither did downgrading the firmware. But it's true. It's a FIRMWARE problem not hardware.
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-22-2017

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

The WRT3200ACM 2.4 wireless issues appears to be related to the logic around the enabling/disabling of both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz radios.  I tried this with both FW images 1.0.5.764 and 1.0.5.790.  Steps to reproduce issue:

- Disable 5GHz wireless

- Apply changes

- Disable/re-enable 2.4GHz wireless

- Apply changes

- Reboot (via Troubleshooting menu)

- Voila - 2.4GHz is working

- Enable 5GHz wireless

- Apply changes

- Voila - 5GHz is working

- Observe - 2.4GHz is no longer working

- Disable 5GHz wireless, enable 2.4GHz wireless

- Apply changes

- Neither wireless is working

 

It's unfortunate; I'd love to have both radios working simultaneously.

Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-22-2017

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

Exactly the same probem with my router.

Tried to upgrade it to the beta firmware. But it does not resolve this issue.

Hopefully Linksys engineering will take notice and fix it.

 

Expert
Posts: 13,339
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

[ Edited ]

Thanks for your testing I will try to confirm the issue and if I can I will report it to linksys engineering.


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Expert
Posts: 13,339
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

[ Edited ]

fritzk9 wrote:

The WRT3200ACM 2.4 wireless issues appears to be related to the logic around the enabling/disabling of both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz radios.  I tried this with both FW images 1.0.5.764 and 1.0.5.790.  Steps to reproduce issue:

- Disable 5GHz wireless

- Apply changes

- Disable/re-enable 2.4GHz wireless

- Apply changes

- Reboot (via Troubleshooting menu)

- Voila - 2.4GHz is working

- Enable 5GHz wireless

- Apply changes

- Voila - 5GHz is working

- Observe - 2.4GHz is no longer working

- Disable 5GHz wireless, enable 2.4GHz wireless

- Apply changes

- Neither wireless is working

 

It's unfortunate; I'd love to have both radios working simultaneously.


I followed this process exactly on factory reset of the beta firmware and wasn't able to observe a failure in the 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz signals.


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-22-2017

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

Can you power cycle the router a few times and see if both radios come up again?

Also, try to reboot the router from the UI and see if both radios are operational?

 

Thanks.