Reply
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-02-2016

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

I've lost my 2.4Ghz channel too. I usually lose it after a reboot, but if I reboot a few more times it usually comes back. Not I can't get it to come back.

Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-22-2017

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

I wanted to let everyone know that I was able to successfully get both the 2.4 and 5.0 GHz networks to be enabled, and run the latest version of released firmware (1.0.5.179030).  Steps to get both working:

 

- Downgraded firmware to version 1.0.5.176416.

- Enable only the 2.4 GHz network; 5.0 network is disabled; guest network is disabled.

- Via the router's web UI, select the "Connectivity",  "Basic" tab and select "Check for Updates".

- The router should download and install version 1.0.5.179030 (was latest FW available as of 2017.04.25).

- After the reboot during the update process, the 2.4 radio should be enabled.

- Select "Wireless", and then turn 5 GHz network ON.

- Both networks should display they're on.  You can confirm via device with both radios.

 

Both networks have remained active for past 4 days.  Really like the performance of this router!

 

Best Regards -

Fritz

Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-02-2016

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

What happens if you reboot your router?
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-22-2017

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

For me it went back to 5Ghz only router. 2.4Ghz radio failed to start again.
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-03-2012

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

Hey y'all, I was having the same issues with a router I just picked up refurbished from linksys.  I first thought  it was the laptop itself that was malfunctioning then relized it was the router having issues.

 

I followed the last set of instructions posted.

 

Downgrade firmware

 

turn off 5GHz radio, leave 2.4 on

 

Upgrade firmware to current addition

 

2.4 now turned on, turned on 5GHz and 2.4 shutoff as well as lost internet from modem

 

Hard reboot (unplug for 30sec- 1 min)

 

After restart all is well

 

 

Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-02-2016

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

That's what happens to me. If I leave it off for 10 minutes and turn it back on, my 2.4ghz comes back.
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-02-2016

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

I'll give it a try.
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-23-2017

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

So gave the latest firmware a spin (1.0.5.179030) and lost the 2.4 radio again.   Tired rebooting, turning it off and on, etc.  Still can't get it on. 

 

I even lost the internet in general for a time as it wouldn't get an IP from my modem.  After several reboots it finally picked at least that up.

 

For a $200 overly fancy router, it's kind of ridiculous this isn't working.  I'm sure your engineers test this stuff, but seems like there is a pretty big gap in the testing somewhere.  I'm hopeing going back to the original shipping FW gets everything working again.

Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-09-2017

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

I too have the same issue, the 2.4 GHz network disappeared and no amount of factory resets, rebooting, or updating seems to bring it back.  I tried disabling and re-enabling the 2.4 GHz a few times, disabled guest 2.4 Ghz, then re-enabled, then off again but no luck.  My 5 GHz network continues to work though.

 

I've also reverted to the prior firmware but it didn't help either.  Currenlty I'm on Ver. 1.0.5.179030.  Where does one get a hold of older firmware?  I'm disappointed to be having such a show stopping issue with a pricey router.  I ditched an Asus router for flaky behavior and didn't want to jump into that pool for more play time.

Posts: 46
Registered: ‎03-22-2017

Re: No 2.4Ghz Network on WRT3200ACM

Try this:

Enable 2.4Ghz radio

Disable 5 Ghz radio

Reboot by switching off, removing the power cord and waiting for 10 seconds.

This should bring back the 2.4 Ghz radio.

 

Work only with 2.4 Ghz radio till Linksys or dd-wrt fix it.