Reply
Expert
Posts: 743
Registered: ‎11-22-2015

Re: OpenDNS Testing

dhoff, I am highly doubting that a firmware update will come for the WRT1900AC, even if they do you never know if they would even include the options to change the DNS entries.

 

Have you given DD-WRT a try? It allows you to do this.dns.jpg

DD-WRT: WRT3200ACM -r33986
APs: WRT1200ACv1 -r33986, WRT1900ACv1-r31899 Sad
RE6500, RE9000 TWC/Spectrum - 300/25
SysLog Watcher 4, Security Onion VB
Posts: 220
Registered: ‎06-01-2016

Re: OpenDNS Testing

Like OMG posted, Linksys will probably not fix anything on the WRT line. Especially for the v1 and v2 revs. Been a year now and they haven't posted anything. Solution is to migrate to DD-WRT or OpenWRT. Both a good, OpenWRT is more ala carte and you can install additional packages that is needed. Both are kind of complex to use however once you have a look around and ask for help in there forums, theres plenty of help to get you going and working well. 


dhoff wrote:
This makes sense, only if the ISP automatically hands out IPv6 DNS server info. Mine does not; it requires I set a static IPv6 DNS server address in my router... which WRT1900AC does not allow. Linksys: please update the firmware.

 

Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-13-2016

Re: OpenDNS Testing

I have heard about OpenDNS once before, is it really secured - because it is called "open" ?

http://xranker360-review.com
Expert
Posts: 13,302
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: OpenDNS Testing


johnlimsy wrote:

I have heard about OpenDNS once before, is it really secured - because it is called "open" ?


I'm sure OpenDNS protects there users logins like everyone else Smiley Happy

 

What DNS security are you concerned about?


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-21-2016

Re: OpenDNS Testing

Is this something I can just go ahead and configure and use or do I need to register and sign-up on the OpenDNS site?
Expert
Posts: 13,302
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: OpenDNS Testing

The OpenDNS servers are free to use and don't require a sign in.

If you sign up OpenDNS they provide you with finer control over your DNS filtering.

Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-21-2016

Re: OpenDNS Testing

Thanks, Chadster.

 

I configured the router and the OpenDNS site confirms success.

 

However, like others have stated, the logs in my router still reflect my original DNS settings. Everything seems fine, though. I did reboot.

Expert
Posts: 13,302
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: OpenDNS Testing

Yes as long as the OpenDNS website says success you are good to go

Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-21-2016

Re: OpenDNS Testing

Thanks, Chadster. Added and seems to be working. I also went ahead and created an OpenDNS account and am in the midst of setting everything up.

Is there a way to have my 1900AC reflect these DNS entries, versus my ISP's, even though it is working or is this just an inherent issue with the 1900AC firmware?
Expert
Posts: 13,302
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: OpenDNS Testing

It's inherent to the Linksys Smart Wifi firmware.


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support