Reply
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎11-25-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM - 1.0.6.184351 Firmware and Wireless Lockups (5ghz radio related)

I rolled my 3200 back to firmware 1.0.5.179030 and still had issues.

 

Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-30-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM - 1.0.6.184351 Firmware and Wireless Lockups (5ghz radio related)

Will using this firmware mess with my wrt32x? From my understanding they're basically the same hardware
Expert
Posts: 3,054
Registered: ‎08-21-2009

Re: WRT3200ACM - 1.0.6.184351 Firmware and Wireless Lockups (5ghz radio related)

Unless you can verify that this has been tried and works, I wouldn't use firmware from a different model. Good chance of bricking your expensive router!

If you have been helped by responses from me or others on this site please feel free to hit their kudos button! thanks
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-30-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM - 1.0.6.184351 Firmware and Wireless Lockups (5ghz radio related)

Now, how can we address this problem quickly to the engineering team? Or should we just get another router since I have no idea how long until this situation can be resolved.

Posts: 34
Registered: ‎11-25-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM - 1.0.6.184351 Firmware and Wireless Lockups (5ghz radio related)

I'm starting to think the wrt3200 has problems with competing 5Ghz signals. I have no idea if that can be fixed in firmware or not. If they can fix it I'll find some use for my year old 3200. I went ahead bought a new router (not a Linksys) to meet my needs.
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-01-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM - 1.0.6.184351 Firmware and Wireless Lockups (5ghz radio related)

Well just to enlightened you on this firmware update, I have had this particular router (WRT3200ACM) for about week and for got to turn off the auto update,  well to my suprise I had discover that this firmware update (1.0.6.184351) has been installed but with out any such problems you and others have mentioned. At this point it has been working flawlessly, KNOCK ON WOOD, Go figure!

Posts: 34
Registered: ‎11-25-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM - 1.0.6.184351 Firmware and Wireless Lockups (5ghz radio related)

I tried 1.0.6.184351 and the four firmwares before that on my year old WRT3200 and on a new WRT3200 at my location.. had same problem with both. The only thing I can see that has changed in the last year is that my neighbors now have competing 5Ghz routers, where as a year ago mine was the only 5Ghz router in my area.

Does your 5Ghz work fine around other 5Ghz routers?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-01-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM - 1.0.6.184351 Firmware and Wireless Lockups (5ghz radio related)

Not sure are can tell if my neighbors are running 5Ghz routers,  all I know is their signal strength bars are at the bottom,  since that is the case seems like they are no threat to my router so for. I believe the signal strenght is much more stronger on the 2.4Ghz spectrum since their are only 11 channels!

Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-03-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM - 1.0.6.184351 Firmware and Wireless Lockups (5ghz radio related)

Also had this problem after installing the latest update yesterday - super annoying having to reboot every few hours!  Manually downgraded to 1.0.6.181063 as mentioned in the thread and so far so good, but only early days.

 

Bought this device for 3rd party firmware though, but haven't seen any recommended builds out there yet, but can't wait.  Although I must say the remote logon/app with the stock firmware is kinda handy...

Posts: 34
Registered: ‎11-25-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM - 1.0.6.184351 Firmware and Wireless Lockups (5ghz radio related)

This is interesting...multiple posts with the same problem across several router model numbers...

Does Linksys even read these posts? I haven't seen Linksys reply to this post or the one I started.