Reply
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-27-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

Thanks..

 

I had done this because I had found the following, which says the Apple network server supports SMB file sharing, and which the WRT3200ACM supports

 

Disks you can use with Time Machine

 

Expert
Posts: 14,135
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

Oh great thanks for the info.

 

Have you tried Connect to Server first in finder before setting it a the TimeMachine backup disk?


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-27-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

Not sure I understand..  I can't set it as the time machine disk..  That's the problem.   I can connect to it in finder just fine..  

Expert
Posts: 14,135
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

Finder => Go => Connect To Server => Add to Favorite Servers


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-27-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

Thanks..  Unfortunatly that didn't work.     I even restaarted the iMac and then opened Time Machine and no drive shown under select backup disk

Expert
Posts: 14,135
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

Ok I will give it a shot myself and report back.

Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Expert
Posts: 14,135
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage


chadster766 wrote:
Ok I will give it a shot myself and report back.

I tried everything I could think of and research but Time Machine will not take the WRT3200ACM External Storage as a backup disk.


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Highlighted
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-27-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

Thanks so much for all the help in trying.  It's truely appreciated.

 

Posts: 38
Registered: ‎04-13-2018

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

Convert MBR didn't work for me. All it did was limit the drive to 2TB capacity with the remainder unallocated and un-partitionable.
Expert
Posts: 14,135
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage


@mweiss wrote:
Convert MBR didn't work for me. All it did was limit the drive to 2TB capacity with the remainder unallocated and un-partitionable.

Did the router work with the NTFS 2TB partition? If it did then create two more 2TB partition to make available the whole storage of the drive.


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support