Reply
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-25-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

This is the router I bought - Linksys AC3200 Dual-Band WiFi Gaming Router with Killer Prioritization Engine (WRT32X).

 

My drives started working after a frimware update to Version 1.0.171114.271 a couple of days ago. Did you try to update it? or completely reset it back to factory and let it update itself?

Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-27-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

ok, it looks like we have different routers.  My apppologies if I missed that in an earlier thread.  My exact router model is the WRT3200ACM.  

 

What I am trying to do is plug a 2TB  WD MyPassport for Mac into the back of it and try and access from my iMac.  When plugged in to either the iMac or my Win 10 machine via USB, I can see it and it's content just fine. 

 

On the Imac, I can see the router under shared devices. I can connect to it and see a document I put on a 2GB USB thumb drive that I plugged into the router.  If I pull the thumb drive out of the router, the iMac can no longer connect to the router.

 

If I plug in my WD, I cannot connect to the router.    I'm thinking the it might be all the security junk that's on the WD?

Expert
Posts: 13,306
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage


klaz wrote:

 

I'm thinking the it might be all the security junk that's on the WD?


If the WD has a hidden partition or security features enabled the router won't be able to work with it.

 

On you Windows 10 PC post the output of the below command prompt commands:

 

1) Enter diskpart

diskpart

2) List the disk drives. Check whether or not your USB Drive is a GPT partitioning scheme because some router's don't support and a covert to MBR may be required (careful a conversion of GPT to MBR will delete all drive of content). 

 

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reser

C:\Users\chad>diskpart

Microsoft DiskPart version 6.1.7601
Copyright (C) 1999-2008 Microsoft Corporation.
On computer: ARCHANGEL

DISKPART> list disk

  Disk ###  Status         Size     Free     Dyn  Gpt
  --------  -------------  -------  -------  ---  ---
  Disk 0    Online          465 GB      0 B
  Disk 1    Online          465 GB  1024 KB
  Disk 2    Online         1397 GB  1024 KB

DISKPART>

3) Select your USB Drive

 

DISKPART> select disk 2

Disk 2 is now the selected disk.

DISKPART>

4) Get Disk information

 

DISKPART> detail disk

Seagate FA GoFlex Desk USB Device
Disk ID: 51F4CD1E
Type   : USB
Status : Online
Path   : 0
Target : 0
LUN ID : 0
Location Path : UNAVAILABLE
Current Read-only State : No
Read-only  : No
Boot Disk  : No
Pagefile Disk  : No
Hibernation File Disk  : No
Crashdump Disk  : No
Clustered Disk  : No

  Volume ###  Ltr  Label        Fs     Type        Size     Status     Info
  ----------  ---  -----------  -----  ----------  -------  ---------  --------
  Volume 5     I   iTunes       NTFS   Partition   1397 GB  Healthy

DISKPART>

Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-27-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

Here is the info for my WD My Passport for MAC
 
I was wrong earlier - it's a 1TB drive, not 2TB.
This is what my iMac has been backing up to (plugged directly into the iMAC via USB)
I suspect when I plugged it into my Win10 machine, it cant read it because it's formated for MAC? 
 
 
DISKPART> list disk
 
  Disk ###  Status         Size     Free     Dyn  Gpt
  --------  -------------  -------  -------  ---  ---
  Disk 0    Online          238 GB      0 B
  Disk 1    Online          931 GB   931 GB
 
 
 
DISKPART> select disk 1
 
Disk 1 is now the selected disk.
 
DISKPART> detail disk
 
WD My Passport 0748 USB Device
Disk ID: 00000000
Type   : USB
Status : Online
Path   : 0
Target : 0
LUN ID : 0
Location Path : UNAVAILABLE
Current Read-only State : No
Read-only  : No
Boot Disk  : No
Pagefile Disk  : No
Hibernation File Disk  : No
Crashdump Disk  : No
Clustered Disk  : No
 
There are no volumes.
 
DISKPART>
 
 
For comparison, here is the info for my WD My Passport Ultra (for windows machine)
 
This is what my Win10 has been backing up to (plugged directly into the Win10 PC via USB)
 
DISKPART> list disk
 
  Disk ###  Status         Size     Free     Dyn  Gpt
  --------  -------------  -------  -------  ---  ---
  Disk 0    Online          238 GB      0 B
  Disk 1    Online         1862 GB      0 B        *
 
DISKPART> select disk 1
 
Disk 1 is now the selected disk.
 
DISKPART> detail disk
 
WD My Passport 2599 USB Device
Disk ID: {A11AAD38-F1FF-4FCD-980F-C57016FD146A}
Type   : USB
Status : Online
Path   : 0
Target : 0
LUN ID : 0
Location Path : UNAVAILABLE
Current Read-only State : No
Read-only  : No
Boot Disk  : No
Pagefile Disk  : No
Hibernation File Disk  : No
Crashdump Disk  : No
Clustered Disk  : No
 
  Volume ###  Ltr  Label        Fs     Type        Size     Status     Info
  ----------  ---  -----------  -----  ----------  -------  ---------  --------
  Volume 3     E   My Passport  NTFS   Partition   1862 GB  Healthy
 
DISKPART>
 
 
I realy don't care about the 2TB drive I back up my Win10 machine to.
 
It's the WD for Mac that I want to change.
Today, my iMAC backs up to it (using Time Machine) but it's plugged directly into the iMAC via USB.  I want to be able to connect the drive directly to the WRT3200ACM router and have my iMAC back up to it (via TimeMachine).
 
Not sure if the apple file formats will prevent that?
Expert
Posts: 13,306
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage


klaz wrote:
 
I want to be able to connect the drive directly to the WRT3200ACM router and have my iMAC back up to it (via TimeMachine).
 

If this is a large amount of data I recommend keeping the TimeMachine backups going to the USB connected hard drive. Trying to do TimeMachine backup to a NAS is always problematic at least from my research.


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-27-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

Thanks..  I understand the size concern but it's only incrementals so the volume is miniscule.  

But I first need to solve the problem of why the router cannot seee the drive.

Expert
Posts: 13,306
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage


klaz wrote:

Thanks..  I understand the size concern but it's only incrementals so the volume is miniscule.  

But I first need to solve the problem of why the router cannot seee the drive.


What does the Mac terminal output look like for command "diskutil list".


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-27-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

With the WD drive plugged into the Mac or the router?

Expert
Posts: 13,306
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

In the Mac

Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-27-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and USB Storage

/dev/disk0 (internal, physical):

#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

 

0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk0
1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Apple_HFS Macintosh HD 999.3 GB disk0s2
3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk0s3

 

/dev/disk1 (external, physical):

#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

 

0: CD_partition_scheme *36.1 MB disk1

 

 

/dev/disk2 (external, physical):

#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

 

0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk2
1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk2s1
2: Apple_HFS My Passport Backup 999.8 GB disk2s2
3: Apple_Boot Boot OS X 134.2 MB disk2s3