Reply
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-15-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and WRT32X Firmware update available 1-11-2018

Lucas, would you say the ea8300 should have better range than the wrt3200??
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-18-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and WRT32X Firmware update available 1-11-2018

I installed the update about 6 hours ago, and so far so good.  I think I'll use the EA8300 as a bridge in my basement Smiley Happy

 

Lucas, again, thanks to you and the rest of the support staff on this.  Very good experience with the message boards, and the phone support with this issue.

Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-13-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and WRT32X Firmware update available 1-11-2018

Thanks Lucas , beta testers, and Forum to help resolve the Android issue. For those using the EA8300 as a bridge. Please put a link or quick way to help those not to savy with routers so we can use 2 great linksys products in our home or business. Thanks guys
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-15-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and WRT32X Firmware update available 1-11-2018

Yes please on the ea8300 bridge help!! Thanks!
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-06-2018

Re: WRT3200ACM and WRT32X Firmware update available 1-11-2018


chadster766 wrote:

azdeltawye wrote:

Here's a follow up to my last post. I tried to roll-back to v1.06.181063 via the factory UI wihtout any luck.  The router went off into the weeds at about 5 minutes and had to cycle power several times to recover.  When it finally came up, v1.0.6.186168 was still there.

 

I then tried to upload v1.0.5.179030 with the same result.

 

It appears that since the rollout of v1.0.6.184351, the user is unable to roll-back to earlier versions or upload third-party firmware builds...

 


Below is a quote from the support site:

-----

IMPORTANT:  If you are moving from firmware version 1.0.6.184351 to 1.0.6.181063, you may need to reset your router after updating your firmware.  Follow the steps below if you are still experiencing issues after switching firmware versions:

-----

So pressing the recessed reset button for 30 seconds after the router reboots might be required.


Thanks for the boiler plate response however it was of little help. After trying to roll-back the firmware from 1.0.6.186168 to 1.0.6.181063 the router would not respond to a ping or web browser request. The only LED activity was the LAN port LED  which was connected to the PC. Holding the reset button in for 1 minute did not change the LED activity or start the rebooting process. Several cycles from the power switch would eventuallly get the router booted and back to the factory UI.

 

This behavior of not accepting ddWRT or earlier factory firmware versions was the same as when it had 1.0.6.184351 installed...

 

Thanks,

Darren

Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-13-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and WRT32X Firmware update available 1-11-2018

Configuring the Wireless Bridge Mode on most Linksys Smart Wi-Fi Routers

https://www.linksys.com/ca/support-article?articleNum=141083

Posts: 18
Registered: ‎12-15-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and WRT32X Firmware update available 1-11-2018

Hmm.. well I guess I wont be using bridge mode.. Need to be able to use 5ghz for some devices, but some of our devices dont have 5ghz option.. looks like im stuck using the ea8300 now because my wrt with the new firmware has noticeably less range than the 8300.. very dissapointing - my wrt is like brand new and wasnt cheap..
Administrator
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎01-26-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and WRT32X Firmware update available 1-11-2018

[ Edited ]

Relkma, there were no changes within the driver that would slow you down or limit range.. i would dump the settings and reset after you install the latest firmware if you havent already. If you did and are still experiencing limited range i would recommend getting in touch with our escalation team to see if somethng else might be wrong with your router.... if there was something off with the firmware like that i would definitely be catching it from everyone here already Smiley Happy.

Expert
Posts: 13,613
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: WRT3200ACM and WRT32X Firmware update available 1-11-2018


azdeltawye wrote:

chadster766 wrote:

azdeltawye wrote:

Here's a follow up to my last post. I tried to roll-back to v1.06.181063 via the factory UI wihtout any luck.  The router went off into the weeds at about 5 minutes and had to cycle power several times to recover.  When it finally came up, v1.0.6.186168 was still there.

 

I then tried to upload v1.0.5.179030 with the same result.

 

It appears that since the rollout of v1.0.6.184351, the user is unable to roll-back to earlier versions or upload third-party firmware builds...

 


Below is a quote from the support site:

-----

IMPORTANT:  If you are moving from firmware version 1.0.6.184351 to 1.0.6.181063, you may need to reset your router after updating your firmware.  Follow the steps below if you are still experiencing issues after switching firmware versions:

-----

So pressing the recessed reset button for 30 seconds after the router reboots might be required.


Thanks for the boiler plate response however it was of little help. After trying to roll-back the firmware from 1.0.6.186168 to 1.0.6.181063 the router would not respond to a ping or web browser request. The only LED activity was the LAN port LED  which was connected to the PC. Holding the reset button in for 1 minute did not change the LED activity or start the rebooting process. Several cycles from the power switch would eventuallly get the router booted and back to the factory UI.

 

This behavior of not accepting ddWRT or earlier factory firmware versions was the same as when it had 1.0.6.184351 installed...

 

Thanks,

Darren


I was hoping it would work for your WRT3200ACM.

 

The only other options are:

 

  1.  Purchase a USB to TTL cable to load the firmwares via u-boot commands and if you can't then the load errors will confirm why
  2. PM Lucas to have the WRT3200ACM warranty RMA swapped as defective

Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-24-2017

Re: WRT3200ACM and WRT32X Firmware update available 1-11-2018

[ Edited ]

Happy to tell that my issue with external HDD seems to be resolved with the new build.

Thanks Lucas and team!