Reply
Expert
Posts: 14,379
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: WRT32x and WRT3200ACM WiFi Issues


@wrote:

Started setting up my new WRT3200acm but the problem is it won't let me move away from auto WiFi settings every time I try to manualy alter the setting the WiFI signal shuts down. Also the signal strength is that weak my kids Kindle's and PS4's struggle to stay connected and i'm getting it in the neck from the wife due to unhappy kids, Help!!!


Are you running the latest firmware?


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-06-2018

Re: WRT32x and WRT3200ACM WiFi Issues

Yes I'm running the latest firmware which I downloaded at the end of January. Now wondering if my router is faulty?.

 

Expert
Posts: 14,379
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: WRT32x and WRT3200ACM WiFi Issues


@wrote:

Yes I'm running the latest firmware which I downloaded at the end of January. Now wondering if my router is faulty?.

 


Its possible, I recommend you use WRT3200ACM settings:

 

  1. 2.4Ghz channel 6
  2. 5Ghz channel 36
  3. WPA2 Security
  4. 2.4Ghz channel width 40Mhz
  5. 5Ghz channel width 80Mhz
  6. 2.4Ghz "N only"
  7. 5Ghz "AC Only"

Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Lun
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎05-09-2007

Re: WRT32x and WRT3200ACM WiFi Issues

On the 2.4ghz channel, I have either Auto or 20mhz. There is no 40mhz on "N only" or whatever.  I assumed Auto will toggle between 20mhz and 40mhz.  How do I set 2.4ghz to 40mhz all the time?  WRT3200acm is listed as :

 

Wi-Fi Speed:
AC3200 (N600 + AC2600) 

 

I cannot figure out how 2.4ghz will deliver N600 when we only have 20mhz or Auto as only options. Help me understand.

Posts: 30
Registered: ‎04-29-2015

Re: WRT32x and WRT3200ACM WiFi Issues

Yes good question regarding 2.4g channel width, as I have also wrt1900ac that share same sittings and user interface with wrt3200acm and recently I installed DD WRT firmware on 1900ac I found that with DD Wrt firmware you can control your channel width at you ease which wa not available with stock linksys fimware......but for the Wrt3200acm I will not take the risk and install Dd WRt firmware as it is new router and it's work excellent with me but I hope linksys do an update to stock firmware that enable users to control the channel width as easy as in DD WRT 

Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-06-2018

Re: WRT32x and WRT3200ACM WiFi Issues

The problem iv'e got is I have an Nvida Shield box which when on sends out a Chromecast signal and a Lexmark printer that sends out a wifi signal as well and try as I might I can't find a way of turning the Chromecast off, so I have to move the channel on the 3200 to get no signal crossover.

Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-27-2017

Re: WRT32x and WRT3200ACM WiFi Issues

I also cannot choose 40MHz on the 2.4 band. also have it set to 'n' only.

Expert
Posts: 14,379
Registered: ‎01-18-2013

Re: WRT32x and WRT3200ACM WiFi Issues


@wrote:

I also cannot choose 40MHz on the 2.4 band.


In that case the channel width auto setting enables 40mhz.


Smiley Wink Please remember to Kudo those that help you.

Linksys
Communities Technical Support
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-27-2017

Re: WRT32x and WRT3200ACM WiFi Issues

Thanks, chadster. will see how these settings work.

Posts: 48
Registered: ‎01-12-2018

Re: WRT32x and WRT3200ACM WiFi Issues

How do you disable IPv6 on the WRT32X? I want to try this and see if it fixes my 5Ghz disconnection issue.